Seniors of Significance

Congratulations to 2021 Seniors of Significance!

L-R: Hannah Abdullah, Chemistry/Pre-Dentistry, Nederland; Samira Ahmed, Biology, Port Arthur; Rachel Clark, Music/Piano Performance, Lumberton; Valen Elliot, Biology/Pre-Dentistry, Bridge City

L-R: Oris Granger, Industrial Engineering, Beaumont; Joissy Grimaldo, Chemical Engineering, Houston; Blaine Huff, Exercise Science/Fitness Management, Beaumont; Ashtyn Jones, Speech & Hearing Science, Port Arthur

L-R: Aurora Maldonado, Social Work, Beaumont; Tyler Martin, Mechanical Engineering, Fort Worth; Katey McCall, Political Science/Pre-Law, Orange; Neera Momin, Psychology & Criminal Justice, Port Arthur

L-R: Ayana Robinson, Business/Human Resource Management, Houston; Yesenia Loera Romo, Economics & Finance, Port Arthur; Chelsea Savoy, Chemical Engineering, Bridge City; Todd Senters, Music/Piano Performance, Beaumont

L-R: Alexis Sturrock, Social Work, Orange; Brooke Tant, Art Education, Orange; Yen Vu, Biology, Port Arthur

About the Award

The Seniors of Significance Award, created by the Division of Student Engagement in 2016, recognizes students who have excelled in scholarship, leadership, and service to campus and community and have brought distinction to Lamar University.

Seniors of Significance have made a lasting impact on the Lamar University campus and in their individual academic fields during their time at  LU. They will continue to excel after graduation when they join the LU alumni family.

Seniors of Significance receive recognition at the Toast to Leadership Banquet, a graduation stole, and a commemorative gift. Honorees are also featured on the Lamar University website.

The Bess Gentry Award and the C. Robert Kemble Award recipients are selected from the Seniors of Significance. Recipients of these two awards each receive $1,000. Honorees for 2020 are Haya Alani and Jackson Dolce. Also receiving recognition was Trayce Gray, who won the  2020 Ann Shaw Leadership Award.

Criteria for Award Selection

Seniors of Significance must be undergraduate students graduating in May 2022, August 2022, or December 2022 who have:

  • Excellence in scholarship
  • Leadership and service to campus and community
  • Brought distinction to Lamar University

LU faculty and staff members may nominate as many students as they feel are deserving of this recognition. Students may nominate themselves for consideration to be recognized.

Nominations for 2022 Seniors of Significance are now closed. The form will open in Spring 2022.

2020 Seniors of Significance

L-R: Afsana Islam, Biology, Beaumont;  Bailey Broussard, Corporate Communications, Beaumont;  Bernice Adeeso, Chemical Engineering, McKinney;  Bra’ah Hamdan, Management Information Systems, Beaumont;  Casey Smith, Management and Human Resource Management, Orange

L-R: Darien Phillips, Accounting, Houston;  Edward Doan, Chemical Engineering, Orange; Elohor Okene, Chemical Engineering, Houston;  Govin Kaggal, Political Science, Beaumont;  Haya Alani, Chemistry, Nederland

L-R: Jackson Dolce, Business Management, Port Neches;  Jordan Curl, Biology, Orange;  Katelyn Meaux, Biology and Psychology, Beaumont;  Madison Boudreaux, Computer Science, Port Arthur;  Madison Jade Lewis, Exercise Science, Baytown

L-R: Marcus Rodgers, Mechanical Engineering, Lumberton;  Mary Kim, Nursing, Beaumont;  Muskaan Ali, Psychology, Nederland;  Omar Hamza, Chemistry, Port Neches;  Raegan Minaldi, Applied Arts & Sciences and Political Science, Port Neches

2019 Seniors of Significance

seniors of significance

Danny Abdullah, Nederland, Chemistry; Roshney Ali, Nederland, Biology; Tristen Anding, Port Arthur, Political Science; Michael Cheng, Stafford, Music Education; Carly Duplant, Groves, Music Education; Jenora Haynes, Missouri City, Fashion Retail & Merchandising; Lillian Hill, Edna, English; Derek Inoma, Missouri City, Industrial Engineering; Cade Johnson, Lumberton, Biology and Exercise Science; Serene Kaggal, Beaumont, Psychology; Victoria LaFleur, Port Neches, Accounting and Finance; Emily Lawrence, Orange, Political Science; Alexus Locke,Cypress, Mechanical Engineering; Madison Marino, Vidor, Finance and Economics; Zhen Wei Ooi, Port Arthur, Chemical Engineering; Daniel Pemberton,Beaumont, Corporate Communication; Natalie Sfeir, Beaumont, Speech & Hearing Sciences; and Jennifer Watters, Silsbee, Chemical Engineering