Ann Shaw Award

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

raegan minaldi

Congratulations to Raegan Minaldi, the 2019 recipient of the Ann Shaw Leadership Award. Raegan is a Political Science major from Port Neches, Texas.

About the Shaw Award

This award recognizes a junior or senior student for fostering a spirit of teamwork, excellence in leadership, and exhibiting exemplary personal ethics and integrity while making significant contributions to the Lamar University community.

The Ann Shaw Leadership Award is presented annually at the Toast to Leadership Awards Banquet. Recipients of the Shaw Award receive a $1,000 award.

About Ann Shaw

Ann Shaw was a long-time employee of the university who served in numerous positions within the division of student affairs. Through her dedication to the growth and development of students and student leadership, she is personally responsible for the implementation of numerous student life programs and events, many of which have become Lamar traditions and institutions. The award was established by Jacque Placette Chapman and perpetuated after the death of Ann Shaw in 1998.

Criteria for Award Selection

Must be a full-time, Junior or Senior student. Applicants will demonstrate qualities of effective, visionary leadership through:

  • Significant contributions to Lamar University
  • Recognizing and developing the potential of others
  • Fostering a spirit of teamwork
  • Inspiring a standard of excellence in leadership
  • Exhibiting exemplary personal ethics and integrity

More Information

Faculty and staff may nominate students for this recognition.

Current LU juniors and seniors may self-nominate.

Apply for Ann Shaw Award

2018 Shaw Award Winner

cade johnsonCade Johnson

Biology & Exercise Science major from Lumberton

2017 Shaw Award Winner

progga chirontoniProgga Chirontoni

Chemical Engineering & Math major from Beaumont