Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Dr. Thomas E. Sowers II
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Director of Assessment


Maegan Collins

Dr. Terri Davis
Associate Professor

Dr. Bianca Easterly
Associate Professor

Dr. Christina Gregory
Assistant Professor

Sara Gubala
Instructor and Faculty Sponsor
Pi Sigma Alpha

Dr. James P. Nelson
Associate Professor and
Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Craig Tahaney
Instructor and Faculty Sponsor
LU Pre-Law Society & LU Moot Court

Dr. Brian D. Williams
Assistant Professor and Director,
M.P.A. Program

Dr. Bruce Drury
Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Dr. Boyd Lanier
Faculty Emeritus

Dr. Glenn Utter
Distinguished Professor Emeritus

The Department of Political Science is home to the Jack Brooks Chair in Government and Public Service. The goal of the chair is to contribute to the community and region in education, research and community service in many fields.

The Jack Brooks Chair funds a scholar-researcher as a member of the Lamar University faculty to enhance the educational experience of students. The chair engages in public policy research and publication, teaches undergraduate courses and graduate seminars and organizes conferences of local and state policymakers.

Dr. Lynn Maurer, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, holds this position.