Seniors of Significance

About the Award

The Seniors of Significance Award, created by the Division of Student Affairs in 2016, recognizes students who have excelled in scholarship, leadership, and service to campus and community and have brought distinction to Lamar University.

Seniors of Significance have made a lasting impact on the Lamar University campus and in their individual academic fields during their time at  LU. They will continue to excel after graduation when they join the LU alumni family.

Seniors of Significance receive recognition at the Toast to Leadership Banquet, a graduation stole, and a commemorative gift. Honorees are also featured on the Lamar University website.

The Bess Gentry Award and the C. Robert Kemble Award recipients are selected from the Seniors of Significance. Recipients of these two awards each receive $1,000.

Criteria for Award Selection

Seniors of Significance must be undergraduate students graduating in May, August, or December 2024 who have:

  • Excellence in scholarship
  • Leadership and service to campus and community
  • Brought distinction to Lamar University

LU faculty and staff members may nominate as many students as they feel are deserving of this recognition. Students may nominate themselves for consideration to be recognized.

Nominations are now closed for 2024.

2024 Seniors of Significance

2024 Seniors of Significance

BACK ROW L-R: David Haley, Chemical Engineering, Lumberton; Dakota Emerson, Chemical Engineering, Nederland; Jacob Thompson, Biology, Beaumont; Susann Kalathra, Biochemistry and Music, Beaumont; Stephanie Barron, Psychology, Groves; Annabelle Broussard, Chemical Engineering, Spring; Kelvin Elgar, Chemical Engineering, Beaumont; Zaid Mohammed, Biology, Beaumont; Oluwatomisin Egbewale, Computer Science, Willoughby, Ohio.

FRONT ROW: Lexus Wilkerson, Accounting, Bridge City; Vicky Longoria-Alvarado, Biochemistry, Port Arthur; Riley Mayo, Nursing, Liberty; Angelie Bautista, Nursing, Katy; Julia Barrett, Interdisciplinary Studies, Groves; Amarie Guillory, Human Resource Management, Beaumont; Mallory Lisle, Chemical Engineering, Orange; Bailey Doss, Communication–Public Relations, Beaumont; Morgan Luke, Biochemistry, Nederland; Jaelan Sherman, Psychology, Houston. Not pictured: Kristin Hebert, Exercise Science, Nederland.

2023 Honorees


BACK ROW L-R: Jacob Murphy, Umer Malik, Zuhair Merchant, Shelbie Williams, Chloe Smith, Jennifer Tsan, Britney Brevell, Sindi Castillo, Luis Arevalo, Marcellious Prentice, Kalan Bonnette. FRONT ROW L-R: Christine Osborne, Madison Taylor, Avery McLain, Chloe Thompson, Kaylee Goodspeed, Hannah Norwood, Caroline LeBlanc, Dajha Myles, Madison Richards, Lily Yoder.

2022 Honorees


Back Row L-R: Dion Tran, Thanh Nguyen, David Williams, Lamarr Reed, Aris Martinez, Ali Hamza, Ayo Oni, Landon Richard, Cade Pellerin, Brendon Camp. Front Row L-R: Umera Ahmed, Krystal Le, Maissa Salibi, Vivica Edwards, Menna Elsaka, Taliah Belcher, Tiffany Tran, Lisseth Aguilar, Bethany Edwards, Kaylie Overstreet.

2021 Honorees

2021 Seniors of Significance

Top Row L-R: Hannah Abdullah, Samira Ahmed, Rachel Clark, Valen Elliot, Oris Granger, Joissy Grimaldo, Blaine Huff, Ashtyn Jones, Aurora Maldonado. Bottom Row L-R: Tyler Martin, Katey McCall, Neera Momin, Ayana Robinson, Yesenia Loera Romo, Chelsea Savoy, Todd Senters, Alexis Sturrock, Brooke Tant, Yen Vu.

2020 Honorees

2020 Seniors of Significance

Top Row L-R: Afsana Islam, Bailey Broussard, Bernice Adeeso, Bra’ah Hamdan, Casey Smith, Darien Phillips, Edward Doan, Elohor Okene, Govin Kaggal, Haya Alani. Bottom Row L-R: Jackson Dolce, Jordan Curl, Katelyn Meaux, Madison Boudreaux, Madison Jade Lewis, Marcus Rodgers, Mary Kim, Muskaan Ali, Omar Hamza, Raegan Minaldi.