Bess Gentry Award

Morgan LukeEstablished in 1975, the Bess Gentry Award is annually conferred as an all-university recognition of a senior woman who has demonstrated outstanding character, leadership, service, contribution and scholarship as a student Lamar University.

The recipient of the Bess Gentry Award is selected from the nominees for Seniors of Significance. Recipients of the Gentry Award also receive a $1,000 award. The recipient is announced at the annual Toast to Leadership Awards Banquet.

Congratulations to Morgan Luke, the 2024 recipient of the Gentry Award. Morgan is a biochemistry major from Nederland and is the president of the American Medical Student Association and Helping Hands, an Honors Student Association peer mentor, and the recipient of the Mamie McFaddin Ward Memorial Scholarship in Health Sciences.

About Bess Gentry

bess gentryThe award was established in the name of Bess Gentry, dean of women (1944-1968) and head of the women’s health and physical education department (1944-1956). Mrs. Gentry was instrumental in establishing several student organizations on the LU campus.

2023 - Chloe Smith

chloe smith
Speech and Hearing Science

2022 - Tiffany Tran


2021 - Katey McCall

katey mccall
Political Science

2020 - Haya Alani

haya alani