Thanks to a number of generous individuals, we are able to offer a number of endowed scholarships to students to enable them to perform in our productions; train in our classrooms, studios, and shops; and prepare for success after graduation. We are extremely grateful for the support of the individuals who have helped make these scholarships possible. Currently, these include:

  • Dr. Larry and Helen Rose Award in Dance for Outstanding Contemporary Dancer
  • Dr. Larry and Helen Rose Award in Dance for Outstanding Technical Dancer
  • Miss Mary Alice Memorial Scholarship in Dance
  • Benny Jo Monlezun Bates Scholarship in Dance
  • David Kyle Carlin Memorial Scholarship in Theatre
  • Maria Concetta Cloninger Presidential Scholarship in Theatre
  • Ruth Kaigler Goode and D. Rex Goode Scholarship in Theatre
  • Jean Allen Helms Scholarship in Theatre
  • Dr. Adonia Placette Scholarship in Theatre
  • Tom Vance Scholarship in Theatre
  • Parker Windham Memorial Scholarship
  • Gloria and Charles Locke Scholarship in Theatre
  • The Locke Family Regents Scholarship in Theatre

A special thanks to the Humphreys Foundation for providing funds for student scholarships.

Endowed scholarships are renewable but are governed by individual criteria, and are not guaranteed for all four years of attendance at Lamar. They are offered for a maximum of four years, and the amounts vary.

Work Study

Work study positions also are available for students who are declared eligible through the financial aid office. The proper paperwork through that office should be completed early in your application since it takes about six months to receive approval. Positions are similar to those offered for assistantships.

***Applications are required for all three and will be available each semester in the department office. Deadlines vary but generally will be in mid-November and mid-April.

Awards of Merit

The Department of Theatre & Dance also offers Awards of Merit, based on exceptional contribution to the department recognized by a faculty or staff member. These are awarded on no particular schedule, at the discretion of the Scholarship Committee and the Department Chair.