Lamar University receives charter for National Honor Society Omicron Delta Kappa

Lamar University’s petition to establish a circle of national leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa was recently approved by the organization’s Board of Trustees. The university officially chartered the chapter on Thursday, March 3 after inducting more than 40 Lamar University faculty, staff, administrators and student leaders.
Omicron Delta Kappa was founded at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, on Dec. 3, 1914. ODK’s mission is to honor and develop leaders; encourage collaboration among students, faculty, staff, and alumni; and promote ODK’s leadership values of collaboration, inclusivity, integrity, scholarship, and service on college and university campuses throughout North America.  odk-inductees
Willie L. Banks, chair of the society’s Board of Trustees, made the following announcement saying, “Omicron Delta Kappa proudly welcomes Lamar University as our newest campus circle. Collegiate, faculty, staff, administrative, and alumni leaders may now be recognized for exhibiting ODK’s positive vision and ideals within the Lamar University campus and community. In addition, student members will be eligible to participate in the society’s national opportunities, including scholarships, internships, campus grants and leadership development programs.”
Lamar University President Dr. Jaime Taylor also is a member of the organization having been initiated in 1998 at Austin Peay State University.
Brenda Nichols, provost and vice president for academic affairs at LU, is also a member of the national organization and noted, “As one of the fastest growing Texas colleges and universities, the addition of ODK to our campus will allow our students to gain valuable leadership skills that will help prepare them for their future careers. It will be a great honor to be the first university in the Texas State University System to be a part of ODK.”
To learn more about Omicron Delta Kappa, visit