Jaime Taylor formally installed as 16th president of Lamar University

View President Taylor's full Investiture address.

The Texas State University System formally installed Jaime R. Taylor as the 16th president of Lamar University at the Presidential Investiture Ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 11. Rich in history and tradition, an investiture is the formal ceremony of conferring the authority and symbols of high office. 

Taylor assumed LU presidency on July 12, 2021 following Dr. Kenneth Evans who held the post for 8 years. As president, Taylor has focused his efforts on student success, retention, community collaboration and pushing Lamar University forward as a preeminent institution in Southeast Texas. 

President Emeritus Jimmy Simmons presenting Jaime Taylor with the Presidential Medallion.

“No single president can successfully set the strategic vision of a university. That kind of vision requires the collective personality of an entire institution,” Taylor said. “But a president can help an institution find focus and create surprising opportunities for collaboration that might otherwise seem impossible.”

Taylor previously served as provost and senior vice president of academic affairs at Marshall University in Huntington, W. Va. since 2018. Prior to his work at Marshall, he spent a significant portion of his career at Austin Peay State University, where he served two years as interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, eight years as dean of the College of Science and Mathematics and eight years as chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Taylor is an award-winning teacher of physics and was honored as an Austin Peay State University Outstanding Alumni.

Delegates across the Texas State University System –– including system executives, TSUS Regents and presidents of member institutions –– joined local officials, faculty, staff, student leaders as well as Taylor’s family and friends to celebrate this momentous event.

Honored speakers at the ceremony included Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives Dade Phelan, TSUS Chancellor Brian McCall, TSUS Regent Stephen Lee, TSUS Chairman Charlie Amato, LU President Emeritus Jimmy Simmons and City of Beaumont Mayor Robin Mouton.

To learn more about President Taylor, visit lamar.edu/president