Scholarship Information

Gifts for Success       
A great number of local and regional health care organizations, health care professionals, and genuinely caring citizens have established scholarship gifts that support Lamar students seeking to attain careers in dentistry, medicine, pharmacy, and the allied health science. Their ongoing generosity has transformed the lives of many past and present pre-professional students while likewise enhancing the quality of healthcare in Southeast Texas and beyond. In this tradition, scholarship recipients are expected to be exemplary students and exemplary citizens who give of their time and talents to benefit others.


New Scholarship Announcement

Newly established The Orange Memorial Hospital Corporation Scholarship: These scholarships are open to pre-medical, pre-dental, and nursing students who are either current residents of Orange County, Texas or former residents who graduated from an Orange County, Texas public or private high school. Two scholarships valued at $10,000 each and one scholarship valued at $8,000 are available. See scholarship criteria below.

Click on the links below for specific scholarship criteria.

The Orange Memorial Hospital Corporation Scholarship

Mrs. Gilbert T. Adams, Sr. Memorial Scholarship

Jack Gill Presidential Scholarship

Dr. Philip B. Greenberg Memorial Scholarship

Vicki Guarnere Handel Scholarship

Dr. Edwin Hayes Pre-Medical Scholarship

Elaine Tatom and Hunter W. “Ticket” Henry Scholarship

Dr. and Mrs. Edward J. and Patricia B. Hurwitz Presidential Scholarship

Jefferson County Medical Society Alliance Scholarship

Mamie McFaddin Ward Scholarship

Dr. Floyd and Marie McSpadden, Sr. Memorial Scholarship

Rabbi Newton J. Friedman Memorial Scholarship

Thomas H. Odiorne Presidential Scholarship

Dr. Jack Orrick Scholarship

Dr. Harry Starr Medical Scholarship Fund

Dr. Harry Starr Medical Scholarship

Martha and Haldane Vinson Memorial Scholarship

F. David Winter, Jr. MD Presidential Scholarship