LU staff and students shine at 2024 Excellence in the Media Awards

In a celebration of journalistic excellence, the Press Club of Southeast Texas hosted its 2024 Excellence inPress Club Awards the Media Awards on Friday, June 7, honoring the region's finest contributors to media and journalism. Among the standout winners were numerous staff and students from Lamar University (LU), who clinched an impressive total of 43 awards across various categories. 

Lamar University  

LU’s Office of Marketing Communications clinched 14 awards across various categories at the recent competition. 


Best Digital Feature – April Thompson – 2nd Place 

Best Use of Social Media by an Organization – Daviss LaBove – 1st Place  

Audio (Radio/Podcast) 

Talk Show/Podcast – John Rollins  - 1st Place  


Feature Story – Stephan Malick – 3rd Place   


Video Storytelling – Garrett Hill – 2nd Place  

Public Relations  

Public Relations Program – Marketing Communications – 3rd Place  

Brochure – Morgan Hill – 1st Place  

Brochure – Morgan Hill and Amanda Toups – 2nd Place  

Posters and Fliers – Jaystan Davis – Honorable Mention  

Special Events Materials – Michelle Lancaster – 1st Place  

Special Events Materials – Morgan Hill – 2nd Place  

Special Events Materials – Morgan Hill – Honorable Mention  

Corporate/Institutional Video – Marketing Communications – 1st Place  

Best Digital Presentation – Marketing Communications – 1st Place  

91.3 KVLU

91.3 KVLU stands out for its exceptional audio programming, earning seven awards in various categories. The station has secured honors for its talk show, public affairs programs, overall excellence, and documentary work.  

Audio (Radio/Podcast)  

Talk Show/Podcast - Jason M. Miller, Dominique Roman, Craig Johnson – 2nd Place  

Public Affairs Program - Jason M. Miller, Robin Pearson – 1st Place  

Public Affairs Program - Jason M. Miller, Shannon Harris, Jean Moncla – 2nd Place  

Overall Excellence - Shannon Harris, Jason M. Miller, Willie Carrierre, Dennis Kiel 

Overall Excellence - Jason M. Miller – 2nd Place  

Best Individual Episode – Shannon Harris, Jason M. Miller, Andy Coughlan – 3rd Place  


Documentary – Shannon Harris, Jason M. Miller, Chelsea Tipton – 3rd Place  

LUTV News & Media  

LUTV News & Media, powered by LU students and led by Studio Operations Manager  Gordon Williams , earned nine awards, spanning General News, Sports Stories, Digital Video, and Documentary categories. 


General News – Taylor Justice – 3rd Place  

Continuing Coverage - Khalaya Coleman, Alexis Miller, Tommy Byers, Taylor Justice, Gordon S. Williams – Honorable Mention  

Sports Story – Tre Sanchez – 2nd Place  

Sports Story – Cam Sanderson – 3rd Place  

Best News Cast – LUTV News – Honorable Mention  


News Organization Internet Video – Taylor Justice – 1st Place  

News Organization Internet Video - Tommy Byers – 2nd Place  

News Organization Internet Video - Stephanie Adeniji – Honorable Mention  


Documentary - Gordon S. Williams, Khalaya Coleman – Honorable Mention  

Lamar University Press  

Led by Director of Student Publications, Andy Coughlan, Lamar University Press (UP) brought home a haul of 13 awards.  


Best News Website – UP Staff – 1st Place  

Digital Sports Story – Keagan Smith – 2nd Place  


Feature Story – Maddie Sims – 1st Place  

Feature Story – Keagan Smith – 2nd Place  

News Story – Keagan Smith – 1st Place  

Magazine Photography – Gage Gilliam – 1st Place  

Overall Excellence – UP Staff – 1st Place  


Sports Feature – Brian Quijada  - 1st Place  

Sports Feature – Keagan Smith – 2nd Place  

Fine Arts/Review Critiques – Maddie Sims – 2nd Place  

Fine Arts/Review Critiques – Maddie Sims – Honorable Mention 

Photo Essay or Picture Page – Brian Quijada – 1st Place  

Sports Photo – Brian Quijada – 3rd Place  

Funds raised from the event benefit the Press Club Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded annually to a Lamar University student in the Department of Communication and Media. This year’s deserving recipient is LUTV News anchor Taylor Justice.  Press Club Awards Scholarship

To see a full list of winners, visit  

Photos provided by Brian Quijada