Lamar University recognizes 2024 Professor and Merit Award recipients

On Thursday, April 11, Lamar University recognized its Professor and Merit Award recipients.

The University Professor Award designation honors senior faculty members whose exemplary contributions to teaching, research, and service have significantly enriched the university community. These distinguished educators serve as role models, inspiring both colleagues and students alike through their commitment to scholarly excellence and mentorship. 

The Merit Awards program spotlights the achievements of junior faculty members. Recognizing their exceptional performance in teaching, research, and service, these awards not only acknowledge individual accomplishments but also foster a culture of innovation and academic rigor within the university.

“One of the most important things we do is celebrate excellence,” Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dann Brown said. “As Dr. Taylor will point out, they are absolutely pivotal to the success of our students, and quality faculty is going to mean that we have students that are going to be successfully launched into their careers beyond their possible imaginations.” 

2024 Lamar University Professor Recipient

Dr. Paul Bernazzani – Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. BernazzaniDr. Paul Bernazzani is a distinguished scholar and educator, acclaimed for his remarkable achievements in the realms of chemistry and biochemistry. His accomplishments include receiving prestigious awards such as the Lamar University Faculty Advisor of the Year in 2012, and the Lamar University Merit Award in 2009. Dr. Bernazzani's academic journey commenced with a Ph.D. in Biophysics from the University of Quebec in Trois-Rivieres, Canada in 2000, followed by a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Chemical Engineering at Texas Tech University, Texas in 2003. His academic pursuits also led him to attain an M.S. in Physical Chemistry from the University of Quebec in Montreal, Canada, and a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Montreal, Canada. Dr. Bernazzani has played an integral role in Lamar University's academic landscape since 2003, holding various positions of increasing responsibility within the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Presently, he serves as the esteemed Chair of the department, a position he has held since 2010. Prior to assuming this leadership role, he served as both an associate professor and assistant professor within the same department.

2024 Lamar University Merit Recipients

Dr. Tina Kibbe – Department of History

Dr. Tina M. Kibbe is a prominent historian specializing in the history of science and medicine, as well as U.S. women's history. With a Ph.D. from the University at Buffalo, she has earned recognition for her exceptional teaching, focusing on these interdisciplinary subjects. Her research centers on eugenics, public health, and gender studies, explored notably in her dissertation linking eugenics and public health movements in early 20th century America. Dr. Kibbe has contributed significantly to scholarship through publications such as "Dr. Edward D. Sprott, Jr.: Civil Rights Activist and Champion for Equal Access to Healthcare" and a chapter in “Women Who Belong: Claiming a Female's Right-Filled Place.” Currently, she is engaged in a captivating project examining societal perceptions of women convicted of multiple murders. Dr. Kibbe's dedication to historical inquiry and her impactful teaching make her a leading figure in her field.

Dr. Christina Gregory – Department of Political Science

Dr. GregoryDr. Christina Gregory is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Lamar University, joining in August 2021. She holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of California, Riverside, where she also obtained a Making Excellence Inclusive Graduate Division Diversity Certification. Dr. Gregory's research focuses on comparative politics and international relations, with interests in veterans, security, gender, ethnic politics, and environmental issues. Her dissertation, "Peace in the Barracks: Military Reconstruction after Ethnic Civil Wars," explores post-conflict military strategies. She has published in journals such as International Politics and Electoral Studies. Dr. Gregory is dedicated to academic excellence, serving as a co-faculty advisor to Lamar's Speech and Debate Team and receiving grants for her work, including the Center for Resiliency Grants and the Deborah Gerner Grant for Professional Development.

Dr. Sargsyan – College of Business

Dr. Sargsyan is an esteemed educator, teaching an array of graduate and undergraduate courses spanningDr. Sargysan Finance, Economics, Security Analysis, Portfolio Management, Real Estate Investments, and more. His scholarly pursuits encompass a diverse range of topics including finance, risk management, real estate finance and investments, energy business risk management, local economic development, finance regulation, tourism management, strategic management, and the financial stability of non-profit organizations. Notably, Dr. Sargsyan has been pivotal in securing substantial grants and awards totaling $1,363,010. His evolving research interests now extend to corporate finance, financial reporting and accounting standards, interdisciplinary studies merging finance and economics, military finance, and real estate regulation and property rights. Dr. Sargsyan is also engaged in university governance, serving on multiple committees. He contributes his expertise as a member of the Undergraduate Research Advisory Board and the Study Abroad Advisory Council. Additionally, he plays a central role in fostering international relations and coordinating project-based study abroad programs within the College of Business.