Lamar University presents the 2022-23 moot court

LU is proud to present the 2022-23 moot court. The LU Moot Court team includes the following members: Dusti Boudreaux; Vivienne Carr; Dakota Emerson; Kierra Figgins; Kaylee Goodspeed; Kayla Lundy; Umer Malik; Jacob Murphy; Maissa Salibi; Gillean Vandiver; and Shelbie Williams.  

According to coach Craig Tahaney, moot court is similar to arguing before an appellate court. It is a competition in which you engage in simulated legal argument before a hypothetical appellate court reviewing a fictitious case. You draw on a limited number of actual appellate court decisions to support your arguments. Membership in LU moot court is by application only and participants are selected by a faculty committee during the spring semester. 2022-23 Moot Court Team

What makes moot court special, noted Tahaney, is that it allows students to engage in advocacy.

“Students work collaboratively to represent their client,” he said. “While moot court is open to all students, most moot court students go on to law school. Students need these advocacy skills for their law school careers. Most importantly, students really have fun.”

This year’s team is unique in its own way, the coach added.

“The team works so hard to research cases and articulate their arguments,” Tahaney said. “Students put in countless hours preparing for competitions through practices and scrimmages with other tournaments. It is also so rewarding to see them receive accolades for their impressive accomplishments.”

Moot court season tournaments typically begin in late September. The season ends with the American Moot Court Association national tournament in January 2023.

For more information regarding moot court, visit the Department of Political Science website.