Lamar University announces 2020-2021 Ambassadors

Lamar University has selected 15 students to serve as Lamar University Ambassadors. They will join 30 returning ambassadors in representing the student body at official university functions during the 2020-2021 academic year.

“The success of many endeavors at Lamar University is due, in large part, to our collaborations with alumni, Ambassadors 2020donors and community leaders,” said Shannon Figueroa, director of alumni affairs.  “The Ambassadors Program connects some of our most accomplished students with these constituents, strengthening vital relationships, highlighting Lamar University’s accomplishments and increasing opportunities for all students of the university.”

Lamar University Ambassadors are a select group of students who serve the university by getting involved on campus, demonstrating school pride, building goodwill among alumni and community supporters at various events and representing the student body to visiting distinguished guests.

“Lamar University Ambassadors maintain high academic performance and also are very involved on campus and are well informed about the university and what it has to offer students, alumni and the community,” Figueroa said.

To serve as an ambassador, an applicant must be a registered full-time undergraduate student, have completed at least one semester at Lamar University, have at least three full semesters left at Lamar University after the application deadline and maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0.  Applicants must also submit a letter of interest, resume, faculty or staff recommendation and have approval from their college dean.

Newly selected Lamar University Ambassadors, listed by hometowns and majors, are:

BEAUMONT: Sindi Castillo- biology; Natalia Doiron- marketing; Kelvin Elgar-chemical engineering; Landon Richard- human resources management; and Stefany Rico-psychology

ALEXANDRIA, EGYPT: Elsaka Menna-chemistry and biochemistry

ALVIN: Mackenzie Savage-biology (pre-medicine)

CEDAR HILL: Brendon Camp-political science and criminal justice

FANNETT: Luis Arevalo-chemical engineering

HARLINGEN: Isaac Moreno-chemical engineering

LABELLE: Annabelle Broussard-chemical engineering

PASADENA: Ryan Shugart-mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and mathematics

PLANO: Taliah Belcher-finance and accounting

PORT ARTHUR: Mindy Escobedo-human resources management; Andrea Figueroa-social work and Spanish

Returning Ambassadors are Haya Alani, Nederland, chemistry (pre-dental); Taylor Angelle, Port Neches, speech and hearing sciences; Aaron Bisnar, Beaumont, nursing; Viviana Denova, Beaumont, management (pre-medicine); Edward Doan, Orange, chemical engineering; Jack Dolce, Port Neches, management (pre-optometry); Obinna Emeh, Arlington, chemical engineering; Kenneth Evans, Dallas, computer science; John Garza, La Grange, management; Ali Hamza, Port Neches, political science; Adelin Hernandez, Beaumont, speech and hearing sciences; Osha Jones, Missouri City, speech and hearing sciences; Elijah Keal, Port Arthur, chemical engineering; Fizzah Khan, Port Neches, psychology (pre-occupational therapy); Caroline LeBlanc, Beaumont, chemical engineering (pre-medicine); Marc Lerma, Lake Jackson, economics and finance; Yesenia Loera Romo, Port Arthur, economics and finance; Katey McCall, Orange, political science (pre-law); Mariah McCoy, Houston, accounting; Neera Momin, Port Arthur, psychology and criminal justice; Luke Nguyen, Port Neches, chemical engineering; Ayo Oni, Lagos, Nigeria, chemical engineering; Cade Pellerin, Buna, mechanical engineering; Darien Phillips, Houston, accounting; Trenton Rucker, Richmond, criminal justice; Jana Salibi, Beaumont, psychology (pre-optometry); Maissa Salibi, Beaumont, political science (pre-law); Dikshant Singh, Beaumont, chemical engineering; Tiffany Tran, Beaumont, biology (pre-dental); and David Williams, Beaumont, mechanical engineering.

For more information about the Lamar University Ambassadors, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at (409) 880-8921 or