facebook twitter Linkedin Email

LU instructor, 40 Under 40 honoree

Lamar University is proud to announce that Maegan Collins, instructor of political science, has been selected as a “40 Under 40” award recipient.

Southeast Texas Young Professionals Organization, the Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce and the
Maeghan Collins
Maegan Collins
Beaumont Enterprise select the best and brightest young professionals in Southeast Texas, under the age of 40, annually. Selections are made based on academic achievements, professional success and community involvement.

“I am extremely honored to join such an accomplished group of “40 Under 40” honorees,” says Collins. “The leadership training and mentorship that I received while attending Lamar University helped me become who I am as a young professional. I will forever be thankful for this distinction and the support of our university.”

Collins, instructor of political science at Lamar University, graduated with her master’s in public administration in May 2018 and her bachelor’s of political science in August 2016. She is currently earning a doctorate in educational leadership from LU. Collins has also served as the assistant director of Undergraduate Advising and as a career consultant. As an undergrad, Collins was an involved student leader and received the Bess Gentry Leadership Award, Ann Shaw Leadership Award and was named a Senior of Significance. She also completed the Texas Legislative Internship Program with former Speaker of the House Joe Straus. Civically, Collins is involved in the Junior League of Beaumont, Leadership Beaumont, Make-A-Wish Foundation, 8th Grade Youth Leadership Day, Encounter Church and serves on the Lamar University Alumni Advisory Board. Collins is also an advisor to the Lamar University Greek Council, Caring Cardinals and several outstanding student organizations.

40 Under 40 LogoIn addition to Collins’ award, Lamar University also celebrates 14 of its alumni who were named as 40 Under 40 honorees for 2020, including:

Thomas Davis, store manager, Debbie's Delights

Tea Do, insurance agent, Farmers Insurance

Charlee Chelette, marketing coordinator, Exceptional Emergency Center

Naomi Doyle, elections manager, Jefferson County

Amanda Heironimus, neuroScience sales specialist, Biohaven Pharmaceuticals

Aaron Herrington, principal, Vidor Independent School District

Marlon Hickman, environmental & regulatory advisor, Golden Pass LNG

Justin Hidalgo, senior project manager, City of Beaumont

Deloris Savoy, 6th grade reading and language arts teacher, Beaumont Independent School District

Mary Sizemore, department chair of general education and developmental studies, Lamar Institute of Technology

Lydia Sylvester, district coordinator of section 504, Response to Intervention and Dyslexia, Beaumont Independent School District

Jennifer Vaughan, coordination, economics and product quality department head, ExxonMobil

Brooklyn Williams, director of business development, 2023 Vision, LLP

Lane Wilson, president, Bar C Ranch Company, Inc.

The 40 Under 40 honorees will be formally celebrated at the 8th Annual 40 Under 40 reception presented by Southeast Texas Young Professionals Organization, Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce and The Beaumont Enterprise on November 12, 2020 at Ford Park. Social hour will start at 5:30 p.m. with ceremony immediately following at 6:00 p.m.