Engineering students awarded NASA funded scholarships

The Texas Space Grant Consortium, funded through a NASA Training Grant, has awarded five students from the College of Engineering the STEM Columbia Crew Memorial Scholarship.

The LU recipients, mechanical engineering students Lisseth Aguilar, Alyssa Dunigan and Kennedy Kieschnick and civil engineering students Kyleigh Dixon and Cindy Rodriguez, were awarded $1,500 each to pursue graduate studies and a career in the STEM fields.

"More of these scholarships were awarded to LU College of Engineering students than from any member university,” said Brian Craig, dean of the College of Engineering. “This is another example of why, after my nearly 20 years at LU, one thing that never ceases to amaze me is the quality and dedication of our LU College of Engineering students and the amazing academic preparation they receive while they are here."

The scholarship winners were chosen for their academic excellence, participation in science, technology, engineering or math education projects and participation in research and leadership qualities.

LU students were eligible to apply for the scholarship because Lamar University is one of 59 members of the Texas Space Grant Consortium. Other universities, including Rice, Baylor University, the University of Texas, the University of Houston, Prairie View A&M University and Texas Tech, are also members of the Consortium whose students received grants.