facebook twitter Linkedin Email

2019 University Professor Award: Kendrick Aung

In an awards ceremony on April 10 Lamar University bestowed the 2019 University Professor Award to Dr. Kendrick Aung, College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering in recognition of his superior 2019 University Professor Award, Dr. Kendrick Aungteaching, scholarship and service to the university.

Aung began his career at Lamar University 18 years ago as an assistant professor but quickly progressed to professor. Aung earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering from Rangoon Institute of Technology, a master’s in engineering from Asian Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Michigan.

Since joining the LU faculty, Aung has taught a wide variety of mechanical engineering courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Aung co-directs the mechanical engineering senior design projects, teaching the senior Capstone design courses and guiding Capstone design teams. Under his direction, more than 50 teams have competed in engineering design contests across the country and many have won international, national and regional design awards such as Society of Automotive Engineers Baja competition, American Society of Mechanical Engineers Human Powered Vehicle competition, Shell Eco-marathon America and Texas Space Grant Consortium Design Challenge.

While at LU, Aung has received significant teaching grants. Additionally, he has received several President Faculty Fellowships for teaching and innovation and has been the recipient of the Dr. Anita Riddle Excellence in Engineering Teaching Fellow. Aung has supervised four doctoral engineering students and 28 master’s in engineering science students. Aung has published more than 90 peer reviewed papers and made nearly 50 presentations at conferences and expositions. Aung has mentored two McNair scholars and has been faculty advisor to Lamar Association of Mechanical Engineering Student Chapter, Lamar American Society of Heating Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers Chapter and Pi Tau Sigma honors society of mechanical engineers. He is also Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology accredited and is the accreditation coordinator for the department of engineering, working for many years mentoring faculty members on continuously improving the department.