facebook twitter Linkedin Email

Lamar University Staff Recognized for Service


Staff members at Lamar University were recognized recently at the annual staff awards ceremony in the Mary and John Gray Library for over 1,700 years of service to the university.

President Ken Evans welcomed honorees and retirees saying “I want to thank each of you being honored today for your length of service to our institution and our students. Your work here is appreciated and noticed for all that you do.”

Finalists for the distinguished staff award were: Dawn Battiest, Velbeth Hernandez and Meliva Parkerson. Award recipients were: Kathleen Andrews, Quentin Bellard, Kay Blankenship, Shannon Figueroa and Brandie Fontenot.

Retirees are: Delores Black, 43 years, Doris Cooper, 20 years, Nancy Davis, 35 years, Jewel Dupuy, 10 years, William George, 1 year, Carvelynne Graff, 18 years, Marie Graham, 10 years, Donna Holland, 13 years, Brenda Hooks, 16 years, Robert Hunter, 30 years, Joseph Jones, 12 years, Virginia McZeal, 19 years, Cruse Melvin, 32 years, Larry Moser, 5 years, Gene Moye, 39 years, Denise Rode, 6 years, Jesus Rodriguez, 14 years, Michael Ruland, 4 years, Joy Tate, 36 years and Dorothea Titus, 41 years.

Staff Council officers are Diann Brodnax, president, Stacie Granger, vice president, Tammy Comeaux, secretary, and Dimples Jones, treasurer.

Larry Carter was recognized for 35 years of service.

Receiving 30-year awards were Bobby Bellow, Robert Hunter, Cynthia Rhoden and Karen Woods.

Receiving a 25-year award was Andrew Coughlan.

staff-awards-2018-53.jpgTwenty-year pins were awarded to Dewanna Campbell, Mark Choate, Wendy Hickman, Tina Johnson, Geoffrey Latil, Artha Simpson, Gordon Williams, Donna Wilridge and David Wong.





staff-awards-2018-fifteen.jpg15-year awards were given to Quentin Bellard, Annette Bonura, Veronica Dudley, Veola Evans, Megan Hale, William Harn, Sharlene Hatch, Carl Hollier, Ester Holloman, Gregory Jordan, Robert King, Michael Lablue, Robin Latimer, Adriana Magallon, Rhonda Marcontell, Stacy Picou, Daniel Powers, Francisca Rodriguez, Douglas Sampson, Carmen Savant and Srinivas Varadaraj.



Ten-year service award recipientsRecognized for 10 years of service were Shelly Barrios, Audra Bendy, Brixey Blankenship, Brian Booker, Tracy Boudreaux, Carly Broussard, Lois Brumley, Louellyn Burgin, Aaron Capps, Margarita Castillo, Pamela Comer, Tracie Craig, Theresa Edgerton, Mary Frank, Kristie Gayle, Mary George, Marie Graham, Matthew Hall, Wanda Harper, Terri Jones, Mirna Martinez, Paul Matthews, Deidra Mayer, Matthew Moore, Pam Morris, Jeremy Parker, George Price, Patricia Randolph, John Smith, Patricia Smith, Andrew Strange, Christy Swanson, Julie Walker, Denis Waller, Diane Weston, Katherine Wood and Antonia Zamarripa.

Five-year service award recipientsRecognized for five years of service were Regina Allen, Danielle Aylor, Robin Barrington, Isidra Capelo, Chris Chambless, Larry Cobb, Lauren Collins, Maegan Collins, Laura Cooley, Latasha Dill, James Dixon, Katherine Downing, Maria Dudley, Kenneth Evans, Christina Gengo, Angela Guidry, Robin Harmony, Marian Hebert, Keli Hendon, Maria Hernandez, Timothy Jenkins, Modesta Jimenez, Ronald Johnson, Sharon Kimberlain, Aric Lange, Sheila Lansdale, Carol Lindsey, Daniel McLemore, George Moore, Chad Morris, Hai Myers, Meliva Parkerson, Dashelle Reed, Yatara Route Martin, Keonna Ruben, Becky Saleme, Jennifer Schneider, Randy Schneider, Paula Scrougham, Clara Semien, Dawn Short, Toni Sylvester, Brent Sonnier, Jalesha Thomas, LeToria Trahan, Weldon Turner, Alesha Walker, Jessica White and Rafaela Zavaleta.