LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

Students, staff win Houston Press Club honors

Lamar University Press students and communications staff took home a number of honors in the 2017 Houston Press Club Star Awards program, held June 10 in Rice University’s Grand Hall. The awards represented work done in 2016.

Taking top honors in PR Corporate Video were LU staff members Gordon Williams, Shenid Bhayroo, Clinton Rawls, LUTV Productions, for their production “Learn, Love, Live, Lamar University.” 

The University Press staff earned second place in the Best Student Newspaper category.

First place honors in Student Print Sports Story went to former University Press staff member Elizabeth Grimm of Silsbee, for her story “Soccer Gets New Leader.” Former UP editor Grant Crawford of Beaumont took second place for his story “A Baseball Lifer: Jim Gilligan to Close Out Illustrious Cardinal Career.” Grimm and Crawford graduated from LU in May 2016.

Former UP staffer Kyle Swearingen of Beaumont took the top spot in Student Print Photography for his entry “State Fair Returns to Southeast Texas.” Swearingen graduated from LU in December 2016.

UP managing editor Tim Collins of Silsbee received a third place in Student Print News or Feature Story for election coverage in “Trump Towers Over Polls.” 

The Houston Press Club Lone Star Awards are given each year in recognition of outstanding achievements in journalism and mass communication in the state of Texas. The competition encompasses efforts in the fields of print, radio, television and Internet journalism; student publications and broadcasts; and public relations. Awards are given to first, second, and third place entries in each category.

The Houston Press Club is dedicated to fostering growth and interaction in these various fields with the aim of improving the whole business of mass communications. The Houston Press Club also supports the efforts of tomorrow's professionals through achievement awards and scholarship funding for students in these fields.