LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

LU earns Press Club honors

The Press Club of Southeast Texas announced the winners in the 2017 Excellence in the Media contest during its annual fund-raising banquet June 2. Lamar University students, faculty and staff were recognized alongside media, communications and public relations professionals of the region for work created during 2016 in a number of categories. 

Representatives of the university received a total of 14 first-place awards, 16 second-place awards, 6 third-place awards, and 5 honorable mentions. Lamar University’s communication programs — University Press, LUTV and LUTV productions — earned a number of awards in competition with professional working media organizations. The university’s public relations and marketing communications areas also earned recognition for their work representing the university.

The Press Club of Southeast Texas draws its membership from Jefferson, Orange, Hardin, Liberty, Chambers, Jasper, Tyler, Polk and Newton counties. Members are professionals in media, public relations, academia, public affairs, corporate communications and public information. The club supports communication scholarships at Lamar University.

This year, the club honored Jefferson County Sheriff Zena Stephens, an alumna of LU, as the 2016 Newsmaker of the Year. Retired longtime LU Baseball Coach Jim Gilligan was honored as a newsmaker finalist.

First place awards:

News organization Internet video, University Press, Trevier Gonzalez, “Living Investigations”; corporate/institutional video, LUTV Productions, Gordon Williams, Shenid Bhayroo, Clinton Rawls, Jeremy Hawa, Mahmoud Salimi, “Learn, Love, Live, Lamar University”; feature release, public relations, Laura Fiedler, “LU student’s own cancer inspires a life of research”; internal public relations campaign, marketing communications, Amanda Toups, “Building Spirit On Campus”; brochure, marketing communications, Amanda Toups, “Lamar University Recruitment Roadbook”; photography, University Press, Noah Dawlearn, “Still a Sanctuary”; feature (light), marketing communications, Kevin McGee, Daniel McLemore, John Ellis, “First ’17-’18 Mirabeau Scholar”; documentary, marketing communications, Kevin McGee, Daniel McLemore, “Every Gift has a Story”; sports photo, University Press, Matt Beadle, “Fired Up with Spirit”; feature page design/layout, University Press, staff, “3-dimensional wonders”; non-daily sports page design/layout, University Press, staff, “Basketball”; general column, University Press, Kara Timberlake, “Embracing the ‘F’ word”; sports news, University Press, Elizabeth Grimm, “Soccer gets new leader”; graphic/cartoon/illustration, University Press, staff, “Dylan awarded Nobel Prize in literature.”

Second place awards:

Website news, University Press, staff; feature release, public relations, Brian Sattler, “LU professor to use robots to attack lionfish in Gulf”; television PSA, LUTV productions, Gordon Williams, Jonathan Tippett, Johnny Lively, Tyler Hargraves, “No Water, Hot Water”; news release, public relations, Laura Fiedler, “Clarity for service animals in new campus policy”; special event materials, marketing communications, Cynthia Hicks, “President’s Circle Invitation Suite”; brochure, LU marketing communications, Gwen Mumford, “College of Fine Art and Communication Event Calendar”; magazine feature story, University Press, Tim Collins, “Seeking community in transitioning world”; sports show, LUTV news, Kiandra Bowers, Emily Sterling, Eddie Jones, Charles Wright, Cody Evans, LUTV Sports Break; best station promotion, LUTV productions, Gordon Williams, Jonathan Tippett, Johnny Lively, “As I Learn”; documentary, LUTV productions, Shenid Bhayroo, Gordon Williams, Edward Long, Jonathan Tippett, Avery Smithhart, “LUTV on Fox – Show B”; sports feature, University Press, Grant Crawford, “A baseball life”; feature photo, University Press, Gabbie Smith, Hannah LeTulle, “Doggy’s day out”; overall excellence, University Press, staff; news story, University Press, Sarah Sanders, “Cleaning ‘Gray’ Water”; feature story, University Press, Tim Collins, “Climbing Mount Fumi”; editorial/commentary, University Press, Kara Timberlake, “Price of free speech?”

Third place awards: 

Internal public relations campaign, LU marketing communications staff, “Email change”; layout, marketing communications, Amanda Toups, “Lamar University Roadbook Infographic Spread”; personal profile/interview, University Press, Danielle Sonnier, “A real team player”; feature (light), LUTV News, Edward Long, “Mark Shelton Music”; special reports: environmental, LUTV News, Bruce Wright, “Toxic Tour”; general news, marketing communications, Laura Fiedler, Kevin McGee, “Service Dogs at LU.”

Honorable mentions:

Public relations program, marketing communications, “Texas State of Mind”; brochure, marketing communications, Gwen Mumford, “LU IT brochure”; music/humor/entertainment show, KVLU 91.3, Trevier Gonzalez, Jonathan Tippett, “Sound Test”; feature photo, University Press, Trevier Gonzalez, “Dust of Color”; fine arts reviews/critiques, University Press, Tim Collins, “Perlman plays, inspires at Fisher Lecture.”