LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

Nursing faculty feted for research excellence

Nursing facultyNine faculty members in the JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing at Lamar University have been awarded the Texas Organization for Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Education (TOBGNE) Excellence in Research Award. This is the second year in a row that faculty from Lamar University have been so honored.

Honored were Cindy Stinson, Eileen Deges Curl, Gina Hale, Iva Hall, Stacey Knight, Cindy Pipkins, Nancy Thompson, Kelli White and Christy Wright for their research on “Mindfulness Meditation Intervention for Nursing Students to Decrease Anxiety (MIND).” The project focused on analyzing the effects of mindfulness meditation on anxiety levels in BSN students.

The prestigious Teaching Innovation Award is presented annually by the Texas organization for innovations in teaching and excellence in research.

Thompson and Stinson“I think this shows the excellent work that the Lamar University Dishman School of Nursing faculty is doing,” said Cynthia Stinson, chair of the nursing school. “We have a reputation of winning research and state awards. We won three innovation and teaching awards, and in the past two years we have won research awards in the state.”

The mission of the Texas Organization for Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Education (TOBGNE) is to enhance the preparation of entry-level and advanced practice nurses in Texas through the promotion of collaborative and facilitative relationships among all the Texas institutions involved with nursing education at institutions of higher learning.

For more information about the Dishman School of Nursing visit