LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

LU staff, faculty and students show Excellence in the Media

Lamar University staff, faculty and students fared very well in the 25th annual Excellence in the Media competition held by the Press Club of Southeast Texas bringing home 12 first-place trophies, 11 second-place awards, 9 third place awards, and one honorable mention at the event June 10.

In addition to the excellence awards, LU was honored by the selection of LU Football’s Kade Harrington as the Southeast Texas Newsmaker of the Year.

LU first place honors:

General Column, Lauren Van Gerving, University Press, “Campus carried away”; Sports Column, Grant Crawford, University Press, “Bringing pride to Cardinal nation”; News Page Design/Layout, Lauren Van Gerving, University Press, “New way of thinking”; General News, Kevin McGee, LUTV, “Bass Economics”; Documentary, Kevin McGee, Caleb McFarland, LUTV, “Dirt track life”; Video Editing, Kevin McGee, Caleb McFarland, LUTV, “Beautiful mountain boarding”; Talk Show, Keving McGee, Kelsey Johnson, Travis Myers, LUTV, “After LUTV Jenner Lips Challenge”; Special Events Materials, Cynthia Hicks, Lamar University President’s Circle brochure; News Release, Brian Sattler, “LU begins academic year with convocation”; Feature Release, Brian Sattler, “LU geologists: the evidence is in the details”; Corporate/Institutional Video, Gordon Williams, Shenid Bhayroo, Clinton Rawls, Jeremy Hawa, Dareas Scott, LUTV Productions, “Lamar’s Legacy, Lamar’s Future”; Broadcast Internet Video, Gordon Williams, Dareas Scott, Jonathan Tippett, LUTV Productions, “Faces Change, Same Mission.”

Second place awards:

Special Reports, Caitlin Duerler, “Cardinals in Ireland”; Feature Story, Haley Bruyn, University Press, “’Digging ‘Lima”; Sports News, Grant Crawford, University Press, “Opportunity knocks?”; Sports Feature, Lane Fortenberry, University Press, “Risk vs. Reward”; Feature Page Design/Layout, Lauren Van Gerving, University Press, “Oscars”; Spot Story-Individual, Kevin McGee, Donavon Cavender, LUTV, “Walk by Faith”; Feature Light, Kevin McGee, Marva Craig, LUTV, “Bull Doggin’”; Magazine Feature Story, Elizabeth Grimm, University Press, “Braced for birth”; Layout, Mike Rhodes, Cynthia Hicks, “Kelly Kirkpatrick: Cultural aesthetics give life to imagination”; Feature Release, Brian Sattler, “Lamar University civil engineering students prepare to host concrete canoe competition”; Best Use of Social Media by an Organization, Sarah Parker, Lamar University social media.

Third place awards:

Environmental story, Sierra Kondos, University Press, “No time to waste”; Editorial/Commentary, Grant Crawford, University Press, “Candidates take the field”; Non-daily Sports Page Design/Layout, Grant Crawford, University Press, “Cards among the top 25”; Overall Excellence, Staff, University Press; News Story, Brian Sattler, “Roden develops software for smart insole”; Overall Excellence, Cardinal Cadence magazine; Special Events Materials, Amanda Toups, #givingLUday; News Release, Tara Hoch, “LU Model UN delegates return from first conference, prep for next”; Corporate/Institutional Video, Kevin McGee, Brian Sattler, “Civil Engineering Concrete Canoes.

Honorable mention:

News Release, Brian Sattler, “LU breaks ground on Center for Innovation, Commercialization and Entrepreneurship.”

The Press Club of Southeast Texas draws most of its membership from Jefferson, Orange and Hardin counties. Press Club members are professionals in media, public relations, academia, public affairs, corporate communication and public information.

Among its many activities to foster excellence, the Press Club hosts an annual Excellence in the Media contest, a Newsmaker of the Year Award, and supports communication scholarships at Lamar University.