LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

LU presents Distinguished Staff Awards, TSUS Staff Excellence Award

James RushJim Rush, director of scholarships, earned honors April 11, as the fourth recipient of the Texas State University System Staff Excellence Award. He is a resident a 40-year veteran of the Lamar University staff.

The TSUS Staff Excellence Award was established to recognize and reward support-staff employees of the System for outstanding contributions to the TSUS mission and that of its component institutions.

Lamar University faculty, administrators and staff gathered in the University Reception Center on the 8th floor of the Mary and John Gray Library for the annual Staff Awards presentation. Five LU employees earned Distinguished Staff Awards at Lamar’s annual staff recognition program.

Distinguished Staff Award recipients are: Yinka Jenmy, assistant director of residence life, Cardinal Village operations; Tammy Salenga student records assistant, senior; David Short, registrar ; Michael Wallace, director, professional pedagogy; and Gordon Williams LUTV studio operations manager.  Criteria for selecting Distinguished Staff Award recipients include job performance and initiative, attitude and relationships.

Photos from programAt the program, Staff Council President Natasha Walker introduced LU President Kenneth Evans for the presentation of retirees: Sandra Bahr, 27 years; Melanie Dishman, 24 years; Linda Barrett, 24 years; Weldon Gibson, 23 years, Valarie Daniels, 21 years; Vicky Farrow, 19 years; Barbara Barker-Milstead, 19 years; Larry McLaughlin, 19 years; Eddie Tyler, 17 years; Robert Dudley, 17 years; Katherine Stanley Capps, 17 years; Stephen Fowler, 16 years; Russ Schultz, 15 years; Stephen Doblin, 14 years; Judy Romero, 13 years; Frances Simpson, 13 years; Laurie Ritchel, 11 years; Lee Narcisse, 11 years; Deborah Craigen, 11 years; Bertha Fregia, 9 years; Thomas Herring, 8 years; Mary Gallow, 7 years; Larry Kueck, 6 years; and Brian Biggin, 5 years.

Staff award presentations were made recognizing individuals for years of service in five-year increments. Recognized for 20 years of service were: Brenda Booker, Mary Givan, Brandi Lewis, Deborah Luquette, Frances Morris and Anthony Reed. With 25 years of service were:  Cynthia Hicks, William Holmes, Irma Jones, Joseph Nordgren, Stephen Schiesler, and Jody Thousand. Honored for 30 years of service were: Cindy Colichia, John Genuardi, Charlotte Holliman, Henry Knobloch, Shellie Richter and Melinda Venable.  With 35 years of service: Jacqueline Coleman, Steve Ford, Glenda Straley, and Durwood Wellman. Topping the list with 40 years of service were: Nancy Bergeron, Delores Black, David Carroll, and James Rush.

Concluding the program was a special honor presented in memory of Sherry Fitzgerald, long standing representative and past president of the Staff Council. Receiving the recognition from President Evans were Fitzgerald’s mother, Vada Fitzgerald, and brother, Michael David Fitzgerald.