LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

CommunityBank supports LU students with annually funded scholarship

CommunityBank of Texas has created an annually funded scholarship to support students at Lamar University.

McSpadden, Parsons, YoungThe scholarship will help students overcome financial barriers that would hinder them from receiving a college education. The $10,000 scholarship will support four students at Lamar University and is open to students in any major.  A university scholarship committee selects recipients.  Two scholarship recipients will be from Port Arthur and two recipients will be from Hardin, Jefferson, Newton, or Orange counties.

“As Beaumont's only locally owned and managed bank, CommunityBank is in the unique position of understanding, at an organic level, the critical role that Lamar University plays in the future of Beaumont and our corner of Texas,” said J. Pat Parsons, vice chairman of the board.

As part of the community bank’s overall charitable giving and community engagement programs, Parsons presented the check to LU planned giving director Floyd McSpadden and Kristie Young, associate director of development.

“Just as a community cannot prosper without a locally owned bank of significant size to manage and invest its capital back into the community, we cannot prosper without the educational and leadership resources that Lamar provides and nurtures,” Parsons said.

"Investments in higher education are among the most important we can make for the future of Southeast Texas," said Juan Zabala, vice president for university advancement. "Unlocking individual potential through higher education creates opportunities that spread throughout our region as our graduates realize successful careers. We're grateful for partners like CommunityBank."

CommunityBank will support qualified students regardless of gender, race, creed or national origin.