LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

Kurt Gilman appointed to Music Field of Study Advisory Committee

Dr. Kurt GilmanThe Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board recently appointed Kurt Gilman, chair of the Mary Morgan Moore Department of Music at Lamar University, to the statewide Music Field of Study Advisory Committee. The committee is charged with setting a course of study that allows for the seamless transfer of credits to music degree programs at four-year universities.

"It means a lot to me to be part of the Music Field of Study and to be involved in laying out these foundational courses," said Gilman. “I feel honored to be part of the future planning that will establish links where there’s a free flow of transfer classes. It’s exciting to be part of setting these statewide policies."

"The recognition of Dr. Gilman for this significant committee speaks to the high quality of our academic programs and his leadership in the Mary Morgan Moore Department of Music," said Derina Holtzhausen, dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communication. “The invitation to serve on this committee is a distinct honor, and we support him in this important work.”

Gilman’s three-year appointment begins with the start of the 2015-16 academic year. The Music Field of Study Advisory Committee is composed of 24 voting members who represent 12 public Texas universities and 12 community colleges.

"This committee ties in very well with Lamar University’s plan regarding the recruitment of transfer students from other institutions," Gilman explained. “Having this field of study mapped out will allow music departments across the state to have better opportunities to recruit talented students into their programs."

The Mary Morgan Moore Department of Music is part of an elite group of named university music departments in the state of Texas. The department offers six undergraduate degree programs and two graduate-level degree programs and is home to more than a dozen performing ensembles. For more information, contact the department at 409-880-8144 or visit