LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

17 chosen for elite national Greek honor society

The Omega Upsilon Chapter of Order of Omega at Lamar University honored 17 outstanding members of the fraternity and sorority community during its initiation ceremony April 1.  Order of Omega recognizes junior and senior fraternity men and sorority women who have attained a high standard of leadership and scholastic achievement.  Order of Omega encourages their members to continue along this line of success and to inspire others to strive for similar attainment.  The chapter also recognized two staff members for their support of fraternities and sororities at Lamar University.

An honor reserved for the top three percent of the Greek community, Order of Omega recognizes students who demonstrate the cardinal qualities of scholarship, character, leadership and service. 

“Order of Omega gives us the opportunity to highlight our fraternity men and sorority women for their amazing accomplishments within their organization as well as on campus,” said Shannon Copeland, Order of Omega advisor.  “It is an organization that provides a forum to engage the diversity of leaders that represent Greek Life and to collectively promote the fraternal experience,” continued Copeland.

“Being selected for Order of Omega is one of the highest honors I have received.  All of the members chosen are excellent representatives of their fraternity or sorority, work hard to achieve academic success and give back to the community,” said Micah Murdock, Order of Omega president.

The following 17 Lamar University students have been inducted into the Omega Upsilon Chapter of the Order of Omega: 

ARLINGTON:  Jordyn Glenn, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, junior, accounting major.

BEAUMONT:  Densil Chapman, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, criminal justice major; Jordan Price, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, junior, biology major; and Andrea Rugg, Alpha Chi Omega Sorority, senior, finance major.

EDNA:  William Hill, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, junior, chemical engineering and mathematics major.

GROVES:  Jordan Lynch, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, junior, nursing major.

HEMPHILL: Robyn Winkle, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, senior, exercise science and fitness management major.

HOUSTON:  Bria’ Atkins, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, senior, social work major; Jessieca Brock, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, junior, human resource management major; Charity Ogbeide, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, communication major; and Fanter Sackor, Delta Sigma Theta, senior, community health major.

MESQUITE:  Taylor Poyner, Alpha Chi Omega Sorority, senior, nursing major.

NEDERLAND:  Maci Reeves, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, biology major.

ORANGE:  Erica Edgerly, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, junior, fashion merchandising major.

ORANGEFIELD:  Rebecca Higginbotham, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, senior, marketing major.

PORT ARTHUR: Matthew Swain, Kappa Alpha Order Fraternity, junior, exercise science and fitness management major.

TEXAS CITY: Tory Hoecker, Kappa Delta Chi Sorority, senior, biology major.

The Order of Omega was founded at the University of Miami in the fall of 1959 by a group of outstanding fraternity men, who felt that individuals in the Greek community should be recognized for their service to the fraternity system and the university.  This tradition continues today in over 500 universities and colleges around the country.