LU News Archive

facebook twitter Linkedin Email

LU Club Tennis tapped Club of the Year

LU Tennis ClubLamar University’s Club Tennis Team was tapped “Club of the Year” recently at the annual United States Tennis Association Tennis on Campus Texas Sectional Championship, held in San Antonio. Team captain Zachary Defrancis was named the USTA Texas Tennis on Campus Leader of the Year.

“Teams from all over the state applied for these two awards, but the Lamar Club Team and Mr. Defrancis were unanimously chosen by a committee to receive their respective awards,” said Vicki McNeil, vice president for student engagement. In receiving the Club of the Year award, the team qualified and will represent the university at the USTA Tennis Campus National Championships, in Cary, North Carolina April 9-11.

Lamar Club Tennis Team is a club sport under the direction of Recreational Sports, Division of Student Engagement. They participated in Tennis on Campus Program that brings together college clubs teams from all over the state to play competitive tennis.

The team consisted of dedicated tennis players from Lamar University, including team captain Defrancis and players Drew Anderson, Trina Schreck, Kelli Creel, Robert Ehrlich, Christopher Bishop, Tyler Hansford and Jacob Tate.

The club earned the award through outreach in the tennis community both locally and at Lamar. Club members have volunteered at many community tennis functions, brought more players into the game, and connected with the varsity teams through practice and supporting them at tournaments, McNeil said.  

For more information on recreational sports programs at Lamar University visit, or Lamar University Department of Recreational Sports on Facebook.