Summing Up: Selected Poems 1962-2022

Summing Up Book Cover

by Dave Oliphant

A collection of Oliphant's new and selected poetry spanning his entire career.

Order from any bookstore, local or online. 

About the Author

Dave Oliphant 2024

Dave Oliphant was born in Fort Worth, Texas. He earned his BA from Lamar University, his MA from the University of Texas at Austin, and his PhD from Northern Illinois University. Oliphant worked at the University of Texas at Austin in various roles for 30 years until his retirement in 2006. He is the author of numerous collections of poetry including Maria’s Poems (1987), which won an Austin Book Award; Memories of Texas Towns & Cities (2000); Backtracking (2004); KD a Jazz Biography (2012), a book entirely in rhyming quatrains; The Pilgrimage: Selected Poems, 1962-2012 (2013); The Cowtown Circle (2014); and Maria's Book (2016). He has contributed significantly to the translation of Chilean poets and has edited numerous poetry anthologies. He has a special interest in jazz studies; titles include Texan Jazz (1996); The Early Swing Era, 1930 to 1941 (2002); and Jazz Mavericks of the Lone Star State (2007).