Care Team

students at lamar university in beaumont texas

Lamar University is committed to offering a learning environment for all and will work to protect, as much as reasonably possible, the health, safety, and welfare of our students and other members of the university community. To this end, the Critical Assessment Response and Evaluation Team (CARE Team) has been established.

The CARE Team is a resource for faculty, staff, & students to report behaviors of LU students that may be potentially violent, threatening, or dangerous. The Team coordinates support services and resources to help LU students who have been referred to the CARE Team.

The CARE Team provides guidance, resources, & plans of action to help students succeed while providing the greatest level of protection to Lamar University & the surrounding community.

To submit a report, complete the online form.


Dr. Terry Mena
Associate Vice President and Dean of Students (Committee Chair)

Mary Atkinson
Director of Housing & Residence Life

Shawn Gray
Director of the Student Health Center

Kayla Holloway
Director of the Undergraduate Advising Center

Brenda McKay
Assistant Director of Financial Aid

Dr. Shannon Hicks
Assistant Director of Counseling Services, Student Health Center

Kyle Mutz
Director of the Disability Resource Center

Dr. Angela Hill
Dean of Students, Lamar Institute of Technology


Brenda Dixon
Compliance Officer and Deputy Title IX Coordinator, Human Resources

Jeff Bell
Director and Title IX Coordinator, Human Resources

Dr. Adrienne Blackwell-Starnes
Assistant Professor, English and Modern Languages

Hector Flores
Lamar University Chief of Police

Robert Smith
Lieutenant, Professional Standards, Police Department

Danny Foster
Senior Student Conduct Officer, Dean of Students Office

Nick Cioci
Assistant Registrar