Care Team

students at lamar university in beaumont texas

Lamar University is committed to offering a learning environment for all and will work to protect, as much as reasonably possible, the health, safety, and welfare of our students and other members of the university community. To this end, the Critical Assessment Response and Evaluation Team (CARE Team) has been established.

The CARE Team is a resource for faculty, staff, & students to report behaviors of LU students that may be potentially violent, threatening, or dangerous. The Team coordinates support services and resources to help LU students who have been referred to the CARE Team.

The CARE Team provides guidance, resources, & plans of action to help students succeed while providing the greatest level of protection to Lamar University & the surrounding community.

To submit a report, complete the online form.

CARE TEAM MEMBERS

Dr. Terry Mena
Associate Vice President and Dean of Students (Committee Chair)
 tmena@lamar.edu

Mary Atkinson
Director of Housing & Residence Life
 mary.atkinson@lamar.edu

Shawn Gray
Director of the Student Health Center
 shawn.gray@lamar.edu

Karen Bowers
Assistant Director of the Undergraduate Advising Center
 kbowers2@lamar.edu

Brenda McKay
Assistant Director of Financial Aid
 brenda.mckay@lamar.edu

Dr. Shannon Hicks
Assistant Director of Counseling Services, Student Health Center
 shannon.hicks@lamar.edu

Kyle Mutz
Director of the Disability Resource Center
 kyle.mutz@lamar.edu

Dr. Angela Hill
Dean of Students, Lamar Institute of Technology
ajhill@lit.edu

 

Brenda Dixon
Compliance Officer and Deputy Title IX Coordinator, Human Resources
 brenda.dixon@lamar.edu

Jeff Bell
Director and Title IX Coordinator, Human Resources
 jeffrey.bell@lamar.edu

Dr. Adrienne Blackwell-Starnes
Assistant Professor, English and Modern Languages
 ablackwellst@lamar.edu

Hector Flores
Lamar University Chief of Police
 hflores1@lamar.edu

Robert Smith
Lieutenant, Professional Standards, Police Department
 robert.smith@lamar.edu

Chris Hazleton
Assistant Director for Student Conduct and Residence Life

Nick Cioci
Assistant Registrar
 nickolaus.cioci@lamar.edu