• Walk A Mile In Her Shoes

    April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month. The Health Education program in the Student Health Center is hosting events all month, including Walk A Mile In Her Shoes, the international men's march to stop rape, sexual assault and gender violence.

  • Seniors of Significance

    The 2018 Seniors of Significance were announced at the Toast to Leadership awards banquet on April 18, 2018. Congratulations to all honorees!

  • Setzer Student Center

    The renovated Setzer Student Center celebrated its Grand Opening on April 12. Visit the Setzer Center and see the new food court, lounges, meeting rooms, and more!


The Division of Student Engagement is here to help facilitate your transition into Lamar University, support your growth in and out of the classroom, and prepare you for personal and professional life after college. As you explore the many offerings at the University, you will find that students are at the center of everything we plan, provide, promote, and promise.

As you live, learn, and grow at Lamar University, we pledge that we will encourage you to embrace opportunities that enrich your academic experience, offer support when you make difficult decisions, challenge you to develop healthy choices regarding behavior and wellness, offer you experiences that foster civic responsibility and cultural engagement, celebrate your individuality, and help you grow as a leader.

We know that college is a life-changing experience. We are committed to making sure that you get the most out of your LU experience.


student spotlight - sakurah fisherSakurah Fisher, from Port Arthur, is a senior majoring in Psychology. Sakurah is the winner of the 2018 Bess Gentry Award.

student spotlight - carlos caballeroCarlos Caballero, from Port Neches, is the winner of the 2018 C. Robert Kemble Award. Carlos is a senior majoring in Mechanical Engineering and Physics.

student spotlight - cade johnsonCade Johnson, from Lumberton, is a Biology and Exercise Science major. Cade is the winner of the 2018 Ann Shaw Leadership Award.