LU News Archive

2014 Beck Fellows present research; new Fellows named

beck fellowsThe 2014 Lamar University David J. Beck Fellows presented their summer research projects, Nov. 21, in the Mary and John Gray Library.  The 2015 Beck Fellowship recipients and finalists were also formally named during the ceremony.

Exercise science and pre-med major Kollin Kahler of Waco and Keeley Townley-Smith, a Lumberton physics and electrical engineering major, were selected as 2014 recipients of the David J. Beck Fellowship. Only two fellows are named each year, making the award the most highly competitive and prestigious honor for undergraduate students at Lamar University. Key to their selection as fellows were their proposed summer projects, a requirement specific to the rigorous Beck Fellowship application process.

Kahler chose to study advances in rehabilitative surgery and therapy for sports injuries at the Sports Surgery Clinic in Dublin, Ireland, one of the best sports medicine clinics in Europe.  Kahler learned best practices and techniques from the leading researchers and physicians. While at the clinic, he concentrated on biomechanics and the aims of rehabilitation techniques to repair athletic groin injuries and tears in the anterior cruciate ligament.  

Townley-Smith completed an 11-week internship at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, Md., with its atomic spectroscopy group, which compiles wavelengths, energy levels and transition probabilities that support numerous applications in industry and the scientific community. She joined the atomic spectroscopy group to study the light emitted by atoms to better understand their dynamics on a quantum level.

Townley-Smith is only the second LU student to receive the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. Its goal is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.  The Goldwater Scholarship is the most prestigious undergraduate award given in the sciences to only 300 college sophomores and juniors nationwide.

Kara Timberlake, an English and communications major with a minor in Spanish from Beaumont, and William Shipp, a chemical engineering and mathematics major from Spicewood, have been selected as 2015 recipients of the David J. Beck Fellowships.  They will receive full academic scholarships covering all tuition, books, fees and on-campus room and board. Additionally, each fellow receives up to $10,000 in funding for a summer project, which may entail research, an internship or international study.

First awarded in 2009, the fellowships are made possible by a generous gift from prominent attorney and LU Distinguished Alumnus David J. Beck ‘61, founding partner of Beck Redden LLP in Houston. The David J. Beck Fellowships reward outstanding academic achievement in any discipline and allow top students to further challenge themselves with unique opportunities for undergraduate research and creative study.