LU News Archive

LU awards 20 research enhancement grants to faculty

Lamar University has awarded 20 Research Enhancement Grants to faculty members - a total of $100,000 in funding by the university, for research projects across a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.

“The Research Enhancement Grants promote faculty research across a vast array of academic areas,” said Gail Davis, interim director of research. “The grants support these research endeavors in the hope that faculty members publish their findings and potentially receive external funding.”

The following faculty members and 2014-2015 grant recipients, each of whom will receive up to a maximum of $5,000, are listed with their departments:

Kakoli Bandyopadhyay, information systems and analysis; Nicholas Brake, civil engineering; Perumalreddy Chandrasekaran, chemistry and bio-chemistry; Jennifer Fagen, sociology, social work and criminal justice; John Gossage, chemical engineering; Zhanhu John Guo, chemical engineering; Ozge Gunaydin-Sen, chemistry and bio-chemistry; Xiangyan Lei, chemistry and bio-chemistry; Xianchange Li, mechanical engineering; and Millicent Musyoka, deaf studies and deaf education.

Others include Bryan Proksch, music; Qin Qian, civil engineering; Selahattin Sayil, electrical engineering; Gleb Tcheslavski, electrical engineering; S. Greg Thompson, educational leadership; Tao Wei, chemical engineering; Jim Westgate, earth and space science; Xing Wu, civil engineering; Evan Wujcik, chemical engineering; and Jiang Zhou, mechanical engineering.

Lamar's Research Enhancement Grant program began in 1998 with the intent to s Research Council evaluates each proposal based on quality and merit.

For more information on Research Enhancement Grants, visit http://www.lamar. edu/research/research-sponsored-programs/internal-grants-awards.html.