LU News Archive

LU presents staff awards

RitaRita Trottman, senior administrative associate in the Department of Sociology, Social Work and Criminal Justice, earned honors March 28 as the second recipient of The Texas State University System Staff Excellence Award. She is a resident of Beaumont and an 11-year veteran of the Lamar staff.

The TSUS Staff Excellence Award was established to recognize and reward support-staff employees of the System for outstanding contributions to the TSUS mission and that of its component institutions.

Five other LU employees earned Distinguished Staff Awards at Lamar’s annual staff recognition program. The awards were presented at the program hosted by the Staff Advisory Council in the University Reception Center of the Mary and John Gray Library.

Distinguished Staff Award recipients are Diann Broadnax and Lillian Kirklin, Orange; Willie Broussard Jr., Port Arthur; David Day, Woodville and Glenda Straley, Nederland.

Criteria for selecting Distinguished Staff Award recipients include:

Performance and initiative - the employee must consistently produce quality work and exhibit a high level of commitment to the department and the university as a whole. This personal investment is demonstrated through individual resourcefulness, as well as collaboration, cooperation and teamwork. Often, the employee makes personal sacrifice or goes above and beyond what is required for a particular job.

small staffPositive attitude and relationships – the employee must have a positive and dedicated attitude that enhances morale and be consistently respectful, compassionate and dignified. He or she unfailingly demonstrates a spirit of fairness in a culturally diverse environment.

Lamar University also honored employees with service awards. Ranking at the top of the list was Lena Francis with 40 years of service.  Employees receiving 35-year service recognition were Gene Moye and John Washburn.  Earning 30-year awards were Larry Carter and Donna Quebedeaux.  Recipients with 25 years of service were Sandra Bahr, Bobby Bellow, Arthur Bradberry, Melissa Gallien, Robert Hunter, George Milhouse, Cynthia Rhoden, Terry Stanfield and Karen Woods.  Honored for 20 years of service were Andrew Coughlin, Weldon Gibson and Kim Wiley.