LU News Archive

Jerry Bradley named 2014 Piper Professor

Jerry BradleyLamar University’s Jerry Bradley joins an elite group of educators as a 2014 Piper Professor in recognition of his dedication to the teaching profession and his outstanding academic and scholarly achievements.

Bradley, university professor of English and Modern Languages, is one of 10 faculty members in Texas to be honored this year by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation – and the 13th Lamar faculty member to receive the honor since the program began in 1958.

President Kenneth Evans will present Bradley with the $5,000 honorarium, certificate of merit and gold commemorative pin that accompany the honor.

Bradley is the first Lamar University faculty member to be honored as a Piper Professor since 2011, when the foundation recognized James Westgate, university professor of earth and space sciences. Jean Andrews, university professor of deaf studies and deaf education, became a Piper Professor in 2004. Hsing-wei Chu, university professor of industrial engineering, became a Piper Professor in 2002. Ralph Wooster, now distinguished professor emeritus of history, was Lamar’s first Piper Professor, earning honors in 1964. Other Piper Professors from Lamar have been William Matthews, geology, 1966; Roy Biser Jr., physics, 1972; Lloyd Cherry, Engineering, 1977; Mary Katherine Bell, mathematics, 1978; Russell Long, biology, 1979; Eugene Martinez, engineering, 1980; JoAnn Stiles, history, 1992; and Joseph Pizzo Jr., physics, 1995. 

In addition, Bradley is the university’s third Ann Die-Hasselmo Scholar, made possible by the creation and funding of the Lamar University Faculty Excellence Endowment by Ann Die Hasselmo, a 1966 graduate of LU.  Honored as Lamar’s 1986 Regents’ Professor, Hasselmo was a longtime faculty member whose career path later took her to top university administrative positions and other roles devoted to strengthening academic leadership.

Bradley’s teaching excellence has been widely applauded and recognized.  In addition to the Piper Professorship, he received the Frances Hernandez Teacher-Scholar Award from the Conference of College Teachers of English and the Joe D. Thomas Scholar-Teacher of the Year Award from the Texas College English Association.

Bradley’s record of professional activity includes membership in the American Academy of Poets, Texas Institute of Letters, Popular Culture Association, and about a dozen other professional organizations.  He has received 43 grants, including four from the National Endowment for the Humanities; five from the Witter Bynner Poetry Foundation; and others from the Meadows Foundations, the Texas Commission on the Arts, and so on.  In addition, he has held dozens of key offices and leadership roles in these professional groups and has served as on the editorial board of numerous journals and publishing houses. 

He has delivered 89 scholarly conference presentations, given 188 readings of his creative work, and conducted 18 writing workshops.  He has published six books, more than 200 poems, 100 book reviews, and numerous essays, encyclopedia entries, and short stories.  His work is critically acclaimed, highly regarded, and widely cited. 

Bradley served as Lamar’s dean of the College of Graduate Studies for seven years and as associate vice president of research for five.  He chaired the Graduate Council, Research Council, Patent Committee, and Animal Care Committee.  In addition, he has served on dozens of other university, college, and departmental committees and councils.  Off campus, he has judged more than 30 writing contests for schools, universities, and community writing groups. In his spare time, he volunteers with the Cardinal Club, the Friends of Hermann Park and the Rice Design Alliance. 

The Piper Foundation presents the awards annually to professors for superior teaching at the college level, making its selection based on nominations submitted by colleges and universities. The roster of Piper Professors includes faculty from two- and four-year colleges and universities, both public and private.

The Piper Professor Award was established by the San Antonio–based Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation in 1958 to annually recognize outstanding college professors across Texas. Selection is made on the basis of nominations; each two and four-year college and university in the state may submit only one nominee annually.

Ten awards of $5,000 each are made annually to professors for superior teaching at the college level. Selection is made on the basis of nominations submitted by each college or university in the State of Texas.