LU News Archive

LU Greeks selected for national Greek honor society

omegaThe Omega Upsilon Chapter of Order of Omega at Lamar University honored 19 outstanding members of the fraternity and sorority community during its initiation ceremony March 26.  Order of Omega recognizes junior and senior fraternity men and sorority women who have attained a high standard of leadership and scholastic achievement.  Order of Omega encourages its members to continue this line of success and to inspire others to strive for similar attainment.  The chapter also recognized two staff members for their support of fraternities and sororities at Lamar University.

An honor reserved for the top three percent of the Greek community, Order of Omega recognizes students who demonstrate the cardinal qualities of scholarship, character, leadership and service. 

“Order of Omega gives us the opportunity to publicly express how proud we are of our fraternity men and sorority women for their remarkable achievements within their organization as well as on campus,” said Shannon Copeland, Order of Omega advisor.  “It is an organization that provides a forum to promote positive inter-fraternal relations and engage the diversity of leaders that represent Greek life,” continued Copeland.

“Being selected for Order of Omega is a true honor.  All of the members chosen have achieved academic success as well as demonstrated exceptional character and leadership ability,” said Jacob James, Order of Omega president.

The following 17 Lamar University students and two staff members have been inducted into the Omega Upsilon Chapter of the Order of Omega: 

BAYTOWN:  Gabriella Avila, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, senior, nursing major.

BEAUMONT:  Erik Camacho, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, senior, chemical engineering major; Johanna Figlia, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, communication disorders major; MariAnne Ortega, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, senior, psychology major; Dakota Sanchez, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, senior, interdisciplinary studies major; and Roberto Torres, Phi Iota Alpha Fraternity, junior, mechanical engineering major.

FREEPORT:  John Michael, Sigma Phi Delta, senior, electrical engineering major.

GROVES:  Micah Murdock, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, junior, chemical engineering and mathematics major.

HOUSTON:  Keatric Bruno, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, alumnus initiate and graduate student, public administration major; Carissa Hill, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, junior, communication major; Daniel Montoya, Phi Iota Alpha Fraternity, senior, management and general business major; Demarcus Prophet, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, economics major; and Javon Prophet, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, pre-pharmacy, biology and chemistry major.

LIMA, PERU:  Ana Montoya, Alpha Chi Omega Sorority, alumna initiate and senior, interdisciplinary studies major.

PORT NECHES:  Colt Schmidtke, Kappa Alpha Order, junior, political science major.

ROUND ROCK:  Ashlyn Larcade, Alpha Chi Omega, senior, applied arts and sciences major.

WARREN:  Casey Word, Kappa Alpha Order, senior, mechanical engineering major.

In addition, Maggie Cano, Director of Recruitment and advisor to the Multicultural Greek Council, and Teresa Simpson, Interim Director of Student Development and Leadership and advisor to Greek Council, were selected to join as honorary members for their valuable contributions to Greek life at Lamar University.

The Order of Omega was founded at the University of Miami in the fall of 1959 by a group of outstanding fraternity men who felt that individuals in the Greek community should be recognized for their service to the fraternity system and the university.  This tradition continues today in more than 500 universities and colleges around the country.