LU News Archive

Lamar University announces 2014-2015 Ambassadors

Lamar University has selected 16 students to serve as Lamar Ambassadors. They will join 22 returning Ambassadors in representing the student body at official university events during the 2014-2015 academic year.

“The success of the many strong academic programs at Lamar University is due, in large part, to our collaborations with our alumni and community leaders,” said Linda LeBlanc, director of alumni affairs.  “Our Ambassadors allow the university to connect accomplished students with these important constituents, strengthening critical bonds and increasing opportunities for all students of our university.”

Lamar University Ambassadors are a select group of students who serve the university by assisting in recruiting qualified prospective students, building goodwill among alumni and community supporters at various public functions, and representing the student body to visiting dignitaries.

“Lamar Ambassadors have a high level of involvement on campus and are well informed about the university and what it has to offer students, alumni and the community,” LeBlanc said.

To serve as an Ambassador, an applicant must be a registered full-time student, be classified as a sophomore or junior in the fall and maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0.  Applicants must also submit a letter of interest, resume, faculty recommendation and have approval from their college dean.

Newly selected Lamar University Ambassadors, listed by hometowns and majors are:

BAYTOWN: Eric Hernandez, psychology/biology.

BEAUMONT: Margeaux Marks, industrial engineering; Lauren Schuldt, English; Kara Timberlake, English/communication.

DRAPER, UTAH:  Brian Curran, biology/pre-medicine.

HOUSTON:  Devyn Coleman, management information systems.

LUMBERTON: Keeley Townley-Smith, physics/electrical engineering; Shelby Whitehead, chemical engineering/business.

ORANGE: Robert Ehrlich, chemical engineering; Jacob Martin, management; Matthew McAfee, mathematics; Colton Morris, marketing; Dani Sanders, political science.

PORT ARTHUR:  Zach Defrancis, history/political science.

PORT NECHES:  Tyler Sumrall, communication.

WOODVILLE:  Noah Arnold, finance/entrepreneurship.

Returning Ambassadors are Jeremy Allen, Beaumont, management information systems; Joshua Barnes, Beaumont, physics/mechanical engineering; Vivian Caloobanan, Lumberton, biology/pre-medicine; Cole Durkin, Orange, general business; Erica Edgerly, Orangefield, fashion merchandising; Danielle Ellis, Kountze, psychology/pre-medicine; Ayah Hamza, Port Neches, biology/pre-medicine; Jason Hatton, Beaumont, computer science; Zach Holt, Baytown, chemistry/chemical engineering; Charles Huynh, Beaumont, chemical engineering/pre-medicine; Fernando Mejia, Beaumont, dietetics/pre-medicine; Micah Murdock, Groves, chemical engineering; Vaughn Ogrydziak, Nederland, chemical engineering; Kristeen Reynolds, Port Arthur, accounting; Lydia Rosario, Beaumont, accounting; Natalie Sell, Spring, theatre arts;  Morgan Simmons, Nederland, speech language pathology; Yanni Thomas, Deer Park, nursing; Morgan Walston, Nederland, corporate communications; A.J. Webb, Duncanville, American Sign Language; Ben Yett, Beaumont, electrical engineering; Kevin Zabala, Beaumont, psychology.

For more information about the Lamar University Ambassadors, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at (409) 880-8921 or