LU News Archive

Office of Undergraduate Research names grant recipients

The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) has announced the winners of the recent grant proposal contest for students wishing to conduct undergraduate research. The 10 recipients will be honored in a formal program on January 27 and presented with certificates of recognition by President Kenneth Evans and Provost Steve Doblin.

The recipients are Chelsea Boling, Kathleen Broussard, Progga Chirontoni, Rachel Graham, Connor Hoch and Derek Tenner of Beaumont; Katherine Deaton and Lindsey Sorrell of Lumberton; Michael Bourne of Port Neches; and Timothy Brown of Vidor.

The 10 students will receive up to $1,000 for research support along with a $500 stipend. The OUR Advisory Council selected proposals that addressed interesting and significant questions, presented compelling ideas, described appropriate research methods to address the questions and were strongly endorsed by the students’ faculty mentors.

“The involvement of undergraduate students in collaborative research and creative activity with faculty members is a proven and powerful practice when one considers the many educational benefits gained by students, the professional rewards accorded to faculty mentors and the contributions to the wider research community,” said Kumer Das, associate professor of mathematics.

The 10 grant recipients will be required to submit a post-grant report detailing their research outcomes by October 1. They will also present their findings at the Lamar Undergraduate Research Expo on April 7. Meant to showcase the research of Lamar’s undergraduate students, the Expo will welcome presentations from all fields of study and be open to the general public.

For more information regarding the OUR grant recipients or the Lamar Undergraduate Research Expo, contact Kumer Das at