LU News Archive

MBA students participate in Aspen Institute competition

Lamar University’s College of Business is one of 25 business schools around the world chosen to participate in the Aspen Institute’s 2013 Business and Society International MBA Case Competition this year.

As they compete for recognition and $35,000 in scholarship funds, students will analyze a brand new case study – co-authored this year by the Yale School of Management and the National University of Singapore Business School – focused on a real-life business decision being undertaken by a major company.

“Current business students are tomorrow’s business leaders,” said Judith Samuelson, executive director of the Aspen Institute’s Business and Society Program.  “We are inspired by the participating business schools; they are looking for opportunities to teach their students that it is possible to change the world through thoughtful and long-term business investment, business strategy and risk management.”

Lamar MBA students who competed on six teams are: Ahmed Al Alshaikh, Matthew Fischer, Sheban Siddiqui, Todd Reamey, Brent Thrasher, Akash Chauhan, Brianna Burks, Kenneth George, Johnny Simpson, Daniel Sunderland, Morgan James, Ryan Litchfield, Rex Nwanne, Jingxing Song, MD Haider, Sijie Sun and Hassan Ulhaque.

All received the business case study on March 21. Over the course of three-and-a-half intense days, the teams analyzed and responded to that business and society-focused case study.

Competition at each of the 25 partnering schools announced campus winners on Monday, April 1. Lamar first place campus team is composed of Burks, George, Simpson and Sunderland. Haidar, Sun and Ulhaque were LU’s second place team, and James, Litchfield, Nwanne and Son took third place. A panel of academic judges will review each campuses winners’ work to establish the top five student teams.

Finalists will fly to New York City on April 19, where they will present to a panel of esteemed judges and join an invitation-only reception generously hosted by BNY Mellon. All finalist teams will receive prize money, with the first place team receiving $15,000 and $1,000 to donate to a charity of their choice. This competition inspires future business leaders to innovate at the intersection of corporate profitability, positive environmental and social impact.

The 25 participating schools for the 2013 competition are: Audencia Nantes, School of Management (France); Baruch College – CUNY, Zicklin School of Business; Business School Lausanne (Switzerland); Case Western Reserve University, The Weatherland School of Management; Claremont Graduate University, Peter F. Drucker & Masatoshi Ito Graduate School of Management; Curtin University, Curtin Graduate School of Business (Australia); Duquesne University, Donahue Graduate School of Business; Fairleigh Dickinson University, Silberman College of Business; Griffith University, Griffith Business School (Australia); Instituto de Estudios Superiores de Administración, IESA (Venezuela); Lamar University, College of Business; New York University, Leonard N. Stern School of Business; Temple University, Fox School of Business; University of Alberta, Alberta School of Business (Canada); University of Denver, Daniels College of Business; University of Iowa, Henry B. Tippie School of Management; University of Jyväskylä, School of Business and Economics (Finland); University of Massachusetts Amherst, Isenberg School of Management; University of Notre Dame, Mendoza College of Business; University of Stellenbosch, University of Stellenbosch Business School (South Africa); University of Wyoming, College of Business; Villanova University, Villanova School of Business; Wilfrid Laurier University, School of Business and Economics (Canada); Western Michigan University, Haworth College of Business; York University, Schulich School of Business (Canada).

Judges for rounds two and three will be Jennifer Johnson, Maureen Scully, Marc Ventresca, David Bach, Jyoti Chopra, Vijay Jagannathan, Erik Joule, Susan Raymond, Christine Salerno and Carsten Tams. Corporate sponsors include BNY Mellon, Newell Rubbermaid, Levi Strauss & Co., Bertelsmann, Marsh and McLennan, 3BL Media, Motorola, GBSN and Rivanna.

Lamar University’s MBA program is open to students of any undergraduate major. For more information on LU’s MBA program, visit or call (409) 880-8604