LU News Archive

LU announces record-setting 104 Mirabeau Scholars for 2013

Lamar University has announced a record-setting 104 recipients of prestigious Mirabeau Scholarships will be entering fall 2013. The increase in Mirabeau Scholars coincides with the 50th anniversary of the Honors Program at the university, officials said.

“The Mirabeau Scholarship is one of the most prestigious and competitive scholarships we offer,” said Stephen Doblin, provost and vice president for academic affairs. “Mirabeau Scholars are held to a higher level of academic and extra-classroom performance because these students are among our best and brightest.”

All Mirabeau Scholars participate in the university’s Honors Program which offers enriched classes in most of the university’s core curriculum, upper-level interdisciplinary classes and seminars, enhanced classes in many majors, and opportunities for independent study, honors contracts and the honors thesis. Honors students are encouraged and supported in the conduct of research and the publication of their work regionally and nationally, Doblin said.

Lamar’s Honors Program began in the fall of 1963 to serve the needs of the university’s gifted students. The program now has around 230 students, so the addition of the 104 new Mirabeau Scholars represents a major step forward, said Honors Program director Kevin Dodson.

“We will be celebrating our 50th anniversary and plan to hold some events around Homecoming next fall,” Dodson said.

Each scholarship carries a value of more than $80,000 over eight semesters of support and covers all expenses. Any scholarships or awards the student receives from sources independent of the university are applied to their account and used first, allowing students to use the Mirabeau funds for academic-related expenses such as research, study abroad, or extended learning with the approval of their department chair, college dean and the provost, Doblin said.

“The Mirabeau Scholarship is not tied to a specific major,” Doblin said. “If a scholar decides during the course of the degree to change major, he or she doesn’t lose the scholarship.”

With complete tuition, fees, room and board assistance, plus a stipend for books and supplies, the financial benefit to the students is obvious. The university benefits as well, Doblin said, “from having exceptional students who live on campus, who are involved in university activities, and who hopefully push their fellow students to excel.” The scholars’ presence in the classroom enhances the academic environment because they ask questions and participate actively in class discussions, he said.

Mirabeau Scholarships are awarded to outstanding high school students who have met the rigorous requirements for the scholarship. Just to be considered for the scholarship, students must achieve an SAT score of 1250 (excluding the writing score) or higher or a composite ACT score of at least 28, and demonstrated excellence in prior academic work. In addition, documented excellence in a variety of leadership, service, and/or creative endeavors is expected.

To maintain the scholarship, scholars must maintain a cumulative, annual GPA of at least 3.5, participate in the University Honors Program and be involved actively in one or more of the following student activities: leadership, government, Lamar Ambassadors, Peer Advisors or undergraduate research.

To learn more about opportunities at Lamar University, visit or

Joining the 2013 class of Mirabeau Scholars are:

ANAHUAC: Paul Hillyard, mechanical engineering/management; Kaitlin Hooper, pre-dental; Macy Morehead, nursing; Robert "Kyle" Perry, electrical engineering.

AUSTIN: Tyler Nutt, biology.

BEAUMONT: Laura Soto, civil engineering; Mary Catherine Wilbur, chemical engineering/art; Katherine Arriola, biology; Apol Joy Bodiongan, chemical engineering; Waymond Boyd, chemical engineering; Melanie Bransford, mathematics; Timothy Gonzales, electrical engineering/computer science; Momin Islam, pre-medicine; Richard Kirschner, chemical engineering; Yuangao Liu, chemical engineering; Patrick Lucas, psychology;Ryan Patrick, mechanical engineering; Madison Hardy, chemical engineering; Lukas Moravits, electrical engineering; Bette Paredez, nursing.

BUNA: Tyler Doiron, mechanical engineering/physics; Kevin Foster, electrical engineering; Alyssa Manke, nursing; Logan Smith, electrical engineering.

CARROLLTON: Sarah Toben, management/sociology.

COLDSPRING: John Gust, chemical engineering.

COLMESNEIL: Caitlin McAlister, music.

CONROE: Noah Roberson, mechanical engineering.

DAYTON: Justin Doolittle, music; Derek Fregia, mechanical engineering.

DRAPER, Utah: Madeline Curran, kinesiology.

FLOWER MOUND: Mollianne Eckart, kinesiology.

FORNEY: Jared Emmons, American Sign Language.

FRIENDSWOOD: Brent Janak, chemical engineering; Nicholas Treybig, mechanical engineering.

GROVES: Gregory Dillon Nicholson, music; Phillip Perkins, chemical engineering.

HARKER HEIGHTS: Dominique Pettway, psychology.

HOUSTON: Aurora Garcia, chemical engineering.

JASPER: Hannah Boyett, nursing.

KILLEEN: David Devers, environmental science; David Pace, chemical engineering.

KINGWOOD: Sam Connell, industrial engineering; Megan Flanagan, kinesiology.

KOUNTZE: Jesse Wells, electrical engineering.

LEAGUE CITY: Grant Freeman, chemical engineering; John Storey, civil engineering.

LUMBERTON: Christi Bierbaum, chemical engineering; Rachel Bingham, psychology; Margaret Calhoun, English; Katherine Deaton, chemical engineering; Matthew Johnson, mechanical engineering; Lucas Johnston, chemical engineering; Shelby Whitehead, chemical engineering.

MAURICEVILLE: Jimmy Mathis, chemical engineering.

MIDLOTHIAN: Devyn Gravley, nursing.

NEDERLAND: Kelli Creel, pre-medicine; Lindsey Darby, history; Christopher Hagner, mathematics; Cameron Henry, computer science; Trent McGee, pre-veterinary medicine; Carley Richmond, psychology; Felicia Sauceda, chemical engineering; Christopher Spell, chemical engineering.

ORANGE: Devin Allen, mechanical engineering; Emily Blanke, mathematics; Shane Granger, computer science; Christopher LaChance, computer science/electrical engineering; Levi Morris, civil engineering; Danelle Sanders, political science; Colin Smith, business; Kimanh Tsan, pre-dental; Jacob Martin, economics/finance; Matthew McAfee, biology; Aaron McCoy, chemical engineering; Elizabeth Newell, nursing.

PASADENA: Natalie Hudson, American Sign Language; Edgar Oviedo, mechanical engineering; Leslie Dean, biology.

PINE FOREST: Nicolas Nikoloutsos, chemical engineering.

POLK CITY, Iowa: Aimee Murphy, mechanical engineering.

PORT ARTHUR: Ryan Nunez, general studies.

PORT NECHES: Isaac Addison, political science; Julia Carter, modern languages; Katherine LaFleur, communication disorders; Katherine Schlett, chemistry; Stephen Stewart, biology.

POST: Kayla Comeaux, biochemistry.

ROUND ROCK: James Struble, mechanical engineering.

SANTA FE: Wesley Wilson, chemistry; Thomas Plew, mechanical engineering.

SMYRNA, Tenn.: Kerri Peterson, education.

SOUR LAKE: Mitchell Davis, electrical engineering; Megan Huddleston, nursing; Devin "Quade" Robertson, electrical engineering.

SUGAR LAND: Emily Nguyen, pre-veterinary medicine.

SWEENY: Paul Gebbert, mechanical engineering.

UPLAND, Calif.: Kahdeadrah Stone, psychology.

VIDOR: Merideth Chilton, psychology; Sharice Fontenot, English; Tyler Mackey, chemical engineering; Cheyenne Ross, pre-medicine; Blake Williams, electrical engineering/physics.

WEBSTER: Daytona Brown, speech and hearing.