LU News Archive

LU accounting students, faculty honored with excellence awards

Lamar University accounting students earned excellence awards at a program sponsored by the Southeast Texas Chapter of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants (TSCPA).

Sheri DelMage, chapter president, joined Ann Watkins, chair of the Department of Accounting and Business Law, in making the presentations during the annual luncheon April 26 in the Cardinal Club Room of the Montagne Center.

Tyler Angelle of Orange and Tracie Chambers of Beaumont were among student honorees, while Frank Badua, assistant professor of accounting, earned faculty honors.

Ann Watkins

Angelle received the Accounting Excellence Award, which the TSCPA has sponsored annually since 1969. The award honors outstanding accounting students at each of the Texas colleges and universities participating in the program. Angelle will graduate from Lamar in December 2012 with his master of science in accounting. He has maintained a 4.0 grade-point average.

Chambers received the chapter’s TSCPA Endowed Scholarship. The endowment, established by the chapter, has provided scholarships to Lamar accounting majors since 2006.

The chapter provides several additional scholarships to deserving Lamar accounting majors through annual fundraising efforts, Watkins said. The 2012 recipients include Emmanuel Amoabeng of Cape Coast, Ghana; Smile Bathla, Beaumont; Michael Carl and Jamie Outler, Port Neches; Heather Hebert, Groves; Nicole Hoyt, Houston; and Joseph Kilmer and Jonathan Webster, Vidor.

The chapter presented its Faculty Research Award to Badua for excellence in research. Badua completed his doctor of philosophy in accounting at Rutgers University in 2005 and joined the Lamar accounting faculty full time in 2009. His teaching interests include accounting education and accounting information systems.

Giselle Moss succeeded Watkins June 1 as chair of the Department of Accounting and Business Law.