LU News Archive

LU signs 27 students to 2012-2013 Cheerleading Team

Twenty-seven students signed contracts this week after being selected as members of the 2012-2013 Lamar University Cheerleading Team.Group photo of LU Cheerleading Team

The 20 women and seven men will cheer and tumble at Lamar University football and basketball games to help keep Cardinal spirit high. Cheerleaders, with the help of mascot Big Red, will also appear at a variety of community events to promote the LU Cardinals.

The 2012-2012 LU Cheerleading Team includes 14 new members and 13 returning cheerleaders.

New Lamar University cheerleaders are DeQuane Bennett, Alfredo Ledet, Anthony Moore, and Andrea Rugg, all of Beaumont; A.J. Webb of Dallas; RaKendra Turner and RaNina Turner, both of Huntsville; Jessica Colton of Kountze; Kalee Garcia of Lufkin; Lindsey Beard of Lumberton; Maddison Marchand of Nederland; Heather Journeay of Orange; Lacey Comeaux of Vidor; and Tayler Kurek of Winnie.

Returning team members are Parys Boutte of Beaumont; Brittany James of Bridge City; Travis Briggs and Brooks Levingston, both of Fannett; Austyn Walters of Kirbyville; Megan Ogden of LaBelle; Destini Ray of Lumberton; Kelsi Kolb of Nederland; Meagan Silva of New Caney; Cori Spencer of Port Neches; Alycia Ulrich of Schulenburg; Brittany Colvin of Silsbee; and Wade Hendrix of Sour Lake.

Two students, one male and one female, will take on the persona of Big Red for 2012-2013, but the identity of the students wearing the costume traditionally is not publicly revealed.