LU News Archive

LU inducts 11 into Sigma Tau Delta English honor society

The Lamar University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, international English honor society, inducted 11 students into membership during its annual initiation ceremony.

The inductees are Caitlin Duerler and Megumi Otake, Beaumont; Alaina Bray, Hamshire; Melinda Howard, Liberty; Jacqueline Hays and Shayna Sheppard, Orange; Chelsea McAuley, Pearland; Chelsea Barnard, Port Neches; Leanna Martin and Brittany Wood, Winnie; and Victoria Vandenberg, Woodville.

The Department of English and Modern Languages hosted the event April 12 in the Dishman Art Museum. Guest speaker was Janet Lowery, professor and Cullen Chair of English and Creative Writing at the University of St. Thomas in Houston.