LU News Archive

Lamar’s University Press earns statewide honors

The University Press at Lamar University won 24 awards in competition of the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) for work published during 2011. The awards were announced at the organization's annual convention, held March 29-31 in Corpus Christi. The awards included seven first-place honors.

The University Press also won second place in the 2011 Associated Press Managing Editors (APME) awards competition for non-daily student newspaper, announced at their conference March 31. The UP has been recognized by APME for four consecutive years, and 12 times overall.

In TIPA competition, the UP placed third in overall excellence for work published in 2011 and received honorable mention for best-in-show, which was judged on a recent single issue submitted at the convention.

“Putting out the University Press is a real team effort,” said managing editor Jacqueline Hays, a graduate student from Orange. “When the newspaper wins an award, everyone wins. It takes the efforts of all the students who have written stories, taken photos or even just answered the phone.”

In on-site competitions, photographer Josh Reeter, Beaumont senior, earned first for on-site feature photo, and sports editor Chris Moore, Beaumont junior, received an honorable mention for on-site sports writing. Reeter also placed first in the Newspaper Division 2 category for picture story and second place for sports feature photo. Former staff writer Peyton Ritter of Nederland won first place for sports action photo.

Moore also won first place for sports feature photo, second place for sports page design and second place for sports column.

Former sports editor Malcolm Lockett of Channelview won first place for news story and also for sports news story.

Staff writer Miles Caston, a Kirbyville senior, won first place for general column and received an honorable mention in the feature story category.

Editor Andrew Strange, a Beaumont senior, earned third for editorial page design, and Hays placed third in the single subject page design category and received an honorable mention for feature page design.

Staffer Tara Wigley, Lumberton sophomore, won third place for information graphic. Photo editor Matt Billiot, Beaumont senior, won third place for sports feature photo and received an honorable mention for sports action photo and feature photo.

Billiot and William Jones, Allen sophomore, won third place for photo essay.

Moore and Billiot received an honorable mention for special section/edition for the basketball preview.

In the General Magazine category, Strange placed third for story package and also for news feature story. Jones received an honorable mention for magazine illustration.

“I am very proud of the paper and of our staff,” Strange said. “They have all worked very hard at putting together a quality paper and it shows at competition. I am quite happy with the results.”

More than 3,000 students from across Texas compete in the awards. TIPA comprises 59 schools.