LU News Archive

Lamar University honors 5 with Distinguished Staff Awards

Five Lamar University employees earned Distinguished Staff Awards at Lamar’s annual staff recognition program.

The awards were presented April 3 during a reception and program hosted by the Staff Senate in the University Reception Center of the Mary and John Gray Library. The program also featured the presentation of 108 service awards and recognition of 26 retirees.   President James Simmons presented the Distinguished Staff Awards to Katrina Brent of Port Neches, Thruston Byerly of Beaumont, Rebecca Caddy of Village Mills, Mary Gagne of Beaumont, and Tammy Hebert of Nederland.

Distinguished staff

Brent is director of marketing for the College of Engineering. She joined the Lamar staff in 2006.

Byerly, a staff member since 1994, is a postal service assistant in the Lamar Mail Center.

Caddy is senior academic advisor in the College of Engineering and has been a staff member since 1996.

Gagne is director of the Texas Academy of Leadership in the Humanities, a position she has held since 1998.

Hebert is executive assistant to the dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communication.  She has been a staff member since 2004.

Criteria for selecting Distinguished Staff Award recipients include:

Performance and initiative – The employee must consistently produce quality work and exhibit a high level of commitment to the department and the university as a whole.  This personal investment is demonstrated through individual resourcefulness, as well as collaboration, cooperation and teamwork. Often, the employee makes personal sacrifice or goes above and beyond what is required for a particular job.

Positive attitude and relationships – The employee must have a positive and dedicated attitude that enhances morale and be consistently respectful, compassionate and dignified. He or she unfailingly demonstrates a spirit of fairness in a culturally diverse environment.