LU News Archive

26 staff retirees earn recognition at Lamar University ceremony

Twenty-six retirees – representing 586 years of service to Lamar University – received recognition April 3 during the university’s annual staff awards ceremony.

These staff members retired in 2011, listed with positions and years of service:

Regina Chaisson Carr, director of postal services, 41 years; Dale Fontenot, chief of police, 41 years; John Whittle, director of risk management, 41 years; Dolores Gail Martel, offset press operator, 37 years; Karen Jones Thomas, director, Setzer Student Center, 37 years; Paulette Charles Jackson, team lead, production control, Information Technology Data Center Services, 32 years; Sharon Ann Walker, senior administrative associate, Department of Political Science, 32 years; Christy Marino, administrative coordinator, Spindletop/Gladys City Boomtown Museum, 30 years.

Others are Jeannie Lee, data entry operator, parking office, 29 years; Virginia Bailey, administrative associate, Student Health Center, 28 years; Barry Wayne Johnson, vice president for student affairs, 28 years; Sabas Montiel, senior electrician, 27 years; Billy Tubbs, assistant to the president, 24 years; Claudia Darnell Farley, executive associate, vice president for student affairs, 22 years; Darlene Guidry, library associate, 22 years; Charlotte LeBlanc, assistant manager, custodian services, 22 years; Stephenie O’Brien Yearwood, executive director, Office of Planning and Assessment, and liaison, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 22 years; Phyllis Miller York, assistant registrar, 20 years.

Also, Dr. Richard Rienstra, university physician, 19 years; Barbara Strother, senior executive associate, provost and vice president for academic affairs, 19 years; Cynthia Burke, custodial supervisor, 17 years; Linda King, senior student records assistant, 11 years; Patricia Fort, senior student records assistant, 10 years; Edgar Raymond, groundskeeper, nine years

Shirley Ann Stanton, administrative associate, Student Health Center, eight years; John Lynch, warehouse supervisor, six years.

Also at the ceremony, Lamar honored five staff members with Distinguished Staff Awards and presented 108 awards for service ranging from five to 40 years.