LU News Archive

Nineteen initiated into prestigious national Greek honor society

The Omega Upsilon Chapter of Order of Omega at Lamar University inducted 18 exemplary members of the Greek community and one staff member during its initiationOrder of Omega ceremony on March 28.  Order of Omega recognizes outstanding junior and senior fraternity men and sorority women who have attained a high standard of leadership and scholastic achievement to encourage them to continue to inspire others to strive for similar attainment. 

An honor reserved for the top three percent of the Greek community, Order of Omega recognizes students who demonstrate the cardinal qualities of scholarship, character, leadership and service.   

“Being selected for Order of Omega is a great honor.  Members are carefully selected based on their academic achievements and personal contributions to their sorority or fraternity, Greek Council, the university and community,” said Candice Montgomery, Order of Omega president. 

 “We value the opportunity to recognize our students who make an impact in our community, and we are proud of our Greek community’s valuable contributions and achievements,” said Shannon Copeland, Order of Omega advisor.             

The inductees are:   

BEAUMONT:  John Brannan, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, communication major; Merris Taylor, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, dietetics major. 

BEDFORD:  Justin Templain, Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity, graduate student, criminology major was invited to join as an alumnus. 

CARROLLTON:  Amanda Blumenberg, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, senior, interdisciplinary studies major was invited to join as an alumna. 

HOUSTON:  Latasha Henry, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, senior, marketing major.

 KIRBYVILLE:  Lindsey Prewitt, Alpha Chi Omega Sorority, senior, nursing major. 

LUMBERTON:  Garret Duhon, Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, junior, civil engineering major. 

MISSOURI CITY:  Ronald Johnson, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, junior, accounting major. 

NEDERLAND:  Megan Hebert, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, nursing major. 

ORANGE:  Christopher Lee, Sigma Nu Fraternity, senior, electrical engineering and physics major. 

ORLANDO, FL:  Katie Barnes, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, nursing major was invited to join as an alumna. 

PEARLAND:  Chelsea McAuley, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, junior, English Major. 

PORT ARTHUR:  Jarale Jones, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, senior, finance and economics major; Andy Nguyen, Kappa Alpha Order Fraternity, junior, construction management major; Lachell Williams, Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, junior, management information systems major. 

PORT NECHES:  Matthew McGuinness, Kappa Alpha Order Fraternity, senior, management information systems major. 

ROCKWALL:  Candice Andrews, Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority, senior, interdisciplinary studies. 

SAN LUIS, POTOSI, MEXICO:  Luis Lopez, Phi Iota Alpha Fraternity, senior, accounting major. 

In addition, Tony Sarda, LU admissions representative and advisor of the Multicultural Greek Council, was selected to join as an honorary member. 

The Order of Omega was founded at the University of Miami in the fall of 1959 by a group of outstanding fraternity men, who felt that individuals in the Greek community should be recognized for their service to the fraternity system and the university.  This tradition continues today in more than 500 universities and colleges around the country.