LU News Archive

Dishman Department of Nursing honors students at LU awards ceremony

The JoAnne Gay Dishman Department of Nursing at Lamar University presented eight top awards and recognized other nursing students for academic achievements at its first nursing awards ceremony March 21.

Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas co-sponsored the event in the University Reception Center of the Mary and John Gray Library. The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize students who exemplify qualities important in nursing, said Eileen Deges Curl, chair of the JoAnne Gay Dishman Department of Nursing.

Kristy Bodden of Port Neches earned the Spirit of Caring and Vision of Excellence Award, the top honor bestowed during the evening. Bodden received a $1,000 cash award, which, along with other monetary awards, was provided by Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas.
Other student awards are named in honor of historically important nurses in the profession, Curl said.

Shannon Young of Bridge City received the Florence Nightingale Leadership Award; Carley Williford of Beaumont, the Lillian Wald Community Service Award; Jennifer Mikel of Sweeny, the Virginia Henderson Professional Growth Award; and Michael Paine of Winona, the Linda Richards Academic Excellence Award. They received cash awards of $500 each.

Brittany Ballew and Christina Latiolais, both of Beaumont, and Cassie Wilkerson of Sour Lake received the Mary Mahoney Personal Growth Award and $300 each.

The Dishman Department of Nursing also recognized 15 pre-nursing students who have attained grade-point averages of more than 3.75 for two consecutive long semesters while carrying full-time course loads. In addition, 74 graduating seniors were recognized for their accomplishments in the associate and baccalaureate nursing programs. The honorees are among 350 nursing majors and 650 pre-nursing students in the department.