LU News Archive

Lamar seeks nominations for outstanding teacher/scholar

Lamar University is seeking nominations for the 2011 honoree in the Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series, sponsored by ExxonMobil.

March 14 is the nomination deadline.

Lamar faculty, staff, students, alumni and retired faculty and staff are invited to nominate outstanding teacher/scholars for the award, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, said Steven Zani, co-chair of the Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award Committee.

The award, which includes a $3,000 stipend, is one of the highest honors accorded a Lamar faculty member. The recipient for 2011 will be announced May 4 at a meeting of the Faculty Senate. The honoree will present a lecture to the Lamar community and university guests Oct. 17 in the University Theatre.

The text of the lecture will be published and distributed to those attending the event. Copies also will be sent to the library at each Texas university and to other universities throughout the United States.

According to selection guidelines, each nominee must be a full-time faculty member at Lamar University “who clearly expresses the university ideal of searching for knowledge through critical inquiry on his or her own discipline, and who supports and appreciates critical inquiry in the other disciplines of the university.” Nominees must have completed one year of service. “The committee that selects the lecturer is unique in that it is composed of faculty members and representatives from the student body, staff, administration, alumni, faculty retirees and the community,” Zani said.

“The entire university and the general community are invited to nominate prospective lecturers, and the committee selects the honoree based on the professor’s proposed topic and on his/her professional background and recognized teaching/presentation skills.”

The Lamar Faculty Senate created the committee structure and guidelines for the lecture series, which Lamar initiated in the spring of 1987 and selected John Storey, Regents’ Professor of History, as the first recipient.

Other Distinguished Faculty Lecturers, beginning with the most recent, are Rafael Tadmor, Dorothy Sisk, Dianna Rivers, J. Lee Thompson, Christine Bridges-Esser, Kenneth Rivers, Terri Davis, Richard Harrel, Jim Sanderson, R.S. “Sam” Gwynn, Jim Jordan, James Westgate, Keith Carter, Joe Pizzo, Jean Andrews, James Esser, Ronald Fritze, Donna Birdwell, Jerry Newman, Sam Parigi, John Carroll, Naaman Woodland and Bill Pampe.

Nominations must be submitted in writing and mailed to Steven Zani, co-chair, Distinguished Faculty Lecture Award Committee, P.O. Box 10023, Beaumont, Texas 77710. Additional information is available by phone, (409) 880-8558; fax, (409) 880-8591; or e-mail,