Water, Earth, Air, Fire, and Picket Fences

Water, Earth, Air, Fire, and Picket Fences by Carol Smallwood

by Carol Smallwood

That time brings metamorphosis to all things should be evident to those living on a planet with molten lava at its core. Shakespeare wrote about sea-change transforming our bones “into something rich and strange.” Most change is so subtle that few see it even though it has been going on since the Big Bang. This collection deals with metamorphosis in many forms. In organizing the book, the poet has made use of the metaphor of the classical four elements: Water, Earth, Air, and Fire—regarded for centuries as the states-of-matter or simplest main parts of which everything consists. Thus she named four of the sections in this collection for those elements, dividing the book into formal and free verse poems. The final section, Picket Fences, becomes a metaphorical fifth element.

Order from any bookstore, local or on line.

Amazon AbeBooks Barnes and Noble Powell's

About the Author

Carol SmallwoodCarol Smallwood, multiple Pushcart-nominee, edited Bringing the Arts Into the Library (American Library Association, 2014) and Women on Poetry: Tips on Writing, Revising, Publishing and Teaching (McFarland, 2012). She is on Poets & Writers Magazine's list of Best Books for Writers. Carol's fiction, nonfiction, and poetry have appeared in several literary journals. Carol appears in Who's Who in the World and Who's Who of American Women.