Manchaiah tapped Jerger Future Leader of Audiology

The American Academy of Audiology has named Lamar University’s Vinaya Manchaiah, associate professor and director of audiology, to the 2016 class of Jerger Future Leaders of Audiology. Manchaiah is one of only a dozen individuals selected nationally for the honor.

“Dr. Vinaya Manchaiah serves as the Jo Mayo Endowed Professor in the Department of Speech and Hearing Science,” said Monica Harn, Diane H. Shaver Professor in Speech and Hearing Sciences and chair of the university’s Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences. “He exemplifies the role of teacher, researcher, and collaborator. His contributions have put the program of audiology at Lamar University in the national and global spotlight.” Read more.

LU researchers seeking solutions to hearing loss

A team of faculty, graduate and undergraduate researchers from LU has made significant progress toward developing digital technologies as an aid for hearing loss thanks to the funding from Lamar University’s Center for Innovation, Commercialization, and Entrepreneurship (CICE). “This project gives both graduate and undergraduate students the opportunity to participate in the research process and discover how it applies to the speech and hearing sciences,” said Monica Bellon-Harn, Diane H. Shaver Professor and chair of the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences.

The project, “Virtual Reality: Management of Adults with Hearing Loss,” is an initiative of the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences to conduct research as an initial step toward creating a virtual reality product that can teach communication strategies to those with hearing loss. The project is one of eight recently funded by a grant from the Gill Foundation of Texas to the CICE. Read more.

Monica Harn tapped inaugural Diane H. Shaver Professor

Monica Harn, chair of Lamar University’s Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Diane H. Shaver Professorship in Speech and Hearing Sciences, Lamar University officials announced.

The Shaver Professorship is the result of a generous contribution from Diane and Don Shaver. Distinguished faculty professorships recognize faculty performance and leadership in research, creative activity and teaching. Read more.