Student Advising and Retention Council

Charge: The Student Advising and Retention Council shall advise the executive director of the Undergraduate Advising Center and the provost on policies and procedures for effective student advisement and retention. Members of the council shall be elected from and by the full-time faculty from those concerned with advising and retention issues. The membership of the council shall consist of a faculty representative from each of the colleges (two from Arts and Sciences) and college readiness, plus a representative from institutional research, the Texas Academy for Leadership in the Humanities, general studies, applied arts and sciences, and student engagement. The registrar, director of the first year experience/QEP, the director of STARS/Center for Academic Success, shall also serve as members. The chair of the council shall be elected from and by the membership.

Membership & Reporting: Faculty Senators/Deans conduct election for faculty members; chair is elected from and by members; charge to Committee given by Provost; recommendations from Committee presented to Provost.

Committee Members

Daniel Bartlett (Interim Exec. Director, Student Achievement & Retention), Chair Ex Officio
Ashley Boone (Bridge) Ex Officio
Julie Eddards (New Student & Leadership Programs) Ex Officio
Rachael Hoover (Director, STARS) Ex Officio
Judi Mann (Director, FYE/QEP) Ex Officio
Greg Marsh (Institutional Research & Reporting) Ex Officio
David Short (Registrar) Ex Officio
Ted Stuberfield (TALH) Ex Officio
Jennifer Daniel (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Michael Hutto (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Lisa Wines (Education & Human Development) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
TBD (BAAS) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Ashley Dockens (Fine Arts & Communication) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Peyton Richmond (Engineering) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Marleen Swerdlow (Business) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Julie Alford (General Studies) FALL 2015-SUM 2018